Frozen

From today I’m under doctor’s orders to rest a frozen shoulder. Capsulitis, he called it.  I like the sound of that – a cosy little capsule, like a cocoon, floating through space.  ‘No more sewing’, he added.  Of course, I know he doesn’t mean that.  He just means do a little less sewing.

So, this might be a good opportunity to prepare some fabrics and threads for dyeing.  If the weather stays as good as it is today, this week might be good for hanging out dyed cloth to dry.  It’s also a good opportunity to work a little more on the Sketchbook Project, which, I keep reminding myself, has to be finished and sent back by January.  That seems like a long time, but it really isn’t.  It’s about 13 weeks.  I think I only need one hand/arm/shoulder to paint and draw, and I’m glad that it’s the left one that’s out of action.  I could also read a bit, and maybe work out some drawings and designs on paper.  It’s actually starting to sound quite attractive.

Tomorrow – maybe – the night time story will resume.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Frozen

  1. karen says:

    I read the words ''stop sewing'' and my blood ran cold!! What a sentence, like you I'm sure he meant ''not as much sewing''. Phew, that was close!!

  2. Sweetpea says:

    It's interesting, K, I've just recovered from a bit of shoulder immobilization myself. It did force me to become more creative with the good shoulder, which ended up being a very good thing. I have no doubt you will *improvise* in a most delightful way!Take good care of yourself.

  3. My sympathies – I had one a few years ago – right shoulder – and it was miserable. I wish you a speedy recovery.

  4. nandas says:

    i hope it doesn't lead to surgery! i had something similar that needed rest and then certain exercises. all is well now. i wanted to thank you also for the sweet gift that grace got from you… i received a little jewel in the mail for the equinox… one of your finger pincushions! it will be so handy when i am pinning things on my design wall!

  5. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks for the good wishes. Nandas, I'm so happy you like the little pincushion, and I hope it will be useful for many years.

  6. maggi says:

    Sorry to hear about the shoulder. I hope it clears up soon. In the meantime, enjoy your alternative projects.

  7. Chris Gray says:

    SNAP!!!..but I can recommend a "Bowen Technique" therapist!Luckily I have one 10 minutes away, and after a few days in agony, I went down on Monday.Came away with everything back in place and no more severe pain….just a bit "bruised" feeling.This is why I've got a new machine…to take away some of the load on the old bones šŸ™‚

  8. Karen,I can't tell you how much I laughed when I read the first paragraph of this post!I love this little piece, silky and gauzy, so like frozen water… and those exquisite stiches!I wonder if this is part of something, or is going to become.Catch you at the weekend. Hope your shoulder gets better quicly so you can do MORE sewing again šŸ˜‰

  9. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks, Catherine. I aim to entertain šŸ™‚

  10. nandas says:

    i can second the bowen recommendation…

Comments are closed.