And the winner is…

As I mentioned yesterday, couching travelled the furthest.  But I disqualified it on the grounds that it needed another thread to hold it down – so actually it uses twice as much thread as anything else.  It travelled 12.5″.  Running stitch kept going for 11.25″ (these were 15″ lengths of thread, if you remember), and this was declared the winner, with couching throwing a bit of a tantrum and demanding a stewards’ enquiry.  In second place, jointly, were split stitch and coral stitch, each managing 4.75″.  Limping home in last place was rope stitch, at a measly 2″.
Some notes on this interesting little exercise:
Crochet thread is very ’round’ – ie cylindrical – which makes it better for some stitches than others.  A round thread is not so good for split stitches, where a flatter thread – such as stranded floss – makes it easier to split the stitch.
It’s a long time since I’ve stitched on just a single layer of cloth, having been used to quilts and layered cloths for so long.  With one layer, there is nowhere to bury the ends of thread, so they are all visible on the back, and also less secure.
Some stitches (notably back stitch) end up with most of the thread on the back, which could be quite interesting to use deliberately some time – ie stitch on the ‘wrong’ side of a cloth to get a different effect.  I especially like the reverse side of split back stitch.
It seems that a length of thread will do approximately one-third of its own length in a decorative stitch, which is, I hope, a useful general yardstick for estimating thread usage.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And the winner is…

  1. I think thats a really interesting exercise to do. I use lots of old thread that i cant always match up so have occasionally had that momnet of panic as it runs out.

  2. arlee says:

    i'm bookmarking this in my "techniques and lessons" folder 🙂 very useful information! sometimes i've held off on using a colour because i think there's not enough, but this may be the ticket to figuring it out

  3. Susan says:

    This is a great little experiment. I know it served a purpose – but It is lovely to look at too! And something about the rulers , lined fabric and blue threads. Reminds me of the newsprint with blue lines my son uses for his handwriting lessons at school. The stitches as handwriting are so nice.

  4. Karen Turner says:

    Susan, you made me look at the photo in a new way – I love the idea of stitches as handwriting practice! Thank you 🙂

  5. Sandra says:

    Hey, thanks for your experiment. I have often wondered how much thread I needed. Some stiches use a lot….

  6. Sweetpea says:

    Way cool, K, so glad you put this together. Did it change your *relationship* with any of the stitches?(sometimes measuring can do that :>]

Comments are closed.