From paint to stitch

Now that the Sketchbook Project is finished, I really want to make it in cloth before I have to send the book off in January.  I made a start, using lots of layered sheers to strive for a soft painterly look.

The page size is about 8″ x 10″.  Since there will be 32 pages, in the spirit of a standard picture book, it will help to keep the dimensions manageable.  I’m hoping all the pages will be finished by Christmas.  I intend to make a few minor changes to the original design and will probably cut out or merge a few of the pages.

I’ve been reminded of how much easier it is to stitch something for which there is already a completed, coloured design, as opposed to making it up as you go along – although that too has its place sometimes.  The stitched version has a totally different quality from the painted version, which, of course, is why I choose textiles as my primary medium.  You just don’t get the same depth, texture and emotional response from the painted image on paper. 

This entry was posted in sketchbook project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to From paint to stitch

  1. Oh so lovely …i sent you a sketchbook project friend request. At least … I think it's you!Carolyn

  2. Robyn says:

    oooh this is beautiful!

  3. jan says:

    That's a lovely idea.

  4. Jacky says:

    ooohhh… I love that painterly effect. Looking forward to seeing your journal pages in cloth.I have been involved in a couple of cloth book projects, nothing like holding them in your hands and taking in every little detail/stitch.Jacky xox

  5. Lenka says:

    Oh, I´m looking forward to new form of sketchbook ! I feel it will be fine and soft ( I´m sorry, my english is not so good to put the exactly feelings …. )

  6. Chris Gray says:

    What a great idea……and a great start too!Love the colours and textures 🙂

  7. Jensters says:

    So stunning already, and i agree so much more texture although i love paint too x

  8. sweetypie says:

    that is rather beautifull karen.

  9. Karen says:

    32 pages!! Wow! It looks like your off to a fantastic start. Love how this looks. And yes, fabric holds so much more texture and depth. The emotional response is why I choose fabrics as my medium as well. Looking forward to seeing where you take these!

  10. Sweetpea says:

    There will not be any grass growing under your tootsies! geesh, you are mighty enterprising – a most wonderful endeavor :>}}

  11. Karen Turner says:

    Thank you for the encouragement! So far, so good – so much more enjoyable for me to work in cloth and stitch than paint and paper, although preliminary work on paper has been very valuable in this case.

  12. Sandra says:

    Karen this is going to be a lot of work. But I know you'll manage. I love following your process of transforming a drawing into cloth. And yes, I can understand that making depth in cloth is quite a challenge.

  13. Karen this is a wonderful idea and I know you will enjoy the journey.The hardest part is knowing when to stop working on a page – you get so drawn in with the creating. It would be wonderful to see each finished page to appreciate the textures and colours. I have almost finished my first journal and have just loved every moment.

  14. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks, Sandra and Suzi. I'm having loads of fun!

Comments are closed.