Page 2…

… of the cloth sketchbook project:

A little surreal, perhaps, but since this is a story about travelling to the land where dreams are made, I think a little surrealism is acceptable in this case.  Essential, even.
The Mona Lisa stencil made itself useful again.  I found, to my surprise and delight, that if you tape a stencil to the surface of a cloth (this was worked in a hoop), you can actually stitch through the gaps if you’re careful enough.  Chiffon is difficult to draw on, so this method obviated the need to mark the fabric in any way.  The facial features are worked in very close rows of split stitch, with seeding stitches to outline.

This entry was posted in sketchbook project and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Page 2…

  1. ger says:

    Amazing… she looks like a blend of Mona Lisa and some long gone American President, which is a nice surreal touch indeed…

  2. Jacky says:

    Fantastic … the Mona Lisa has come up so well stitching through the stencil and I love the painterly background effect again.Lovely…Jacky xox

  3. Robyn says:

    I find your work to be very inspiring… thanks for sharing.

  4. Mnemosyne says:

    very nice method. and work.

  5. Karen Turner says:

    Thank you :-)Ger, I had to laugh a bit – an American president… not quite what I intended!

  6. Sandra says:

    Hey you successfully succeeded in creating depth with stiches!!!! It's awesome. Really. Well done.

  7. ger says:

    Hope you didn´t mind – it´s just that she made me think of that big faces sculptured at a mountainside somewhere, always forget where it is – + she IS wearing a bit of a Lincoln-beard…;)- but I find the stitching awsome, actually I prefer her to the painted one…

  8. Karen Turner says:

    Ger, no, I thought it was funny… and you weren't the only one who thought of the Mount Rushmore presidents :-)Thanks for brightening my day!

Comments are closed.