There will be time

“There will be time, there will be time
To prepare a face to meet the faces that you meet;
There will be time to murder and create,
And time for all the works and days of hands
That lift and drop a question on your plate;
Time for you and time for me,
And time yet for a hundred indecisions,
And for a hundred visions and revisions…”
T. S. Eliot, ‘The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock’

One of my favourite poems; just seemed appropriate for today.  I really enjoyed making this page.  The clock is applique, made with gold silk and white cotton fabric.  The clock face is slightly padded (with a bit of an old wool blanket) and embroidered, and there is a bit from an old watch attached too.  The edges are couched, using twisted viscose cord.
 

This entry was posted in sketchbook project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to There will be time

  1. nandas says:

    oooh i love this… the concept of time has always intrigued me. and i am ashamed to say i didn't know about this poem of t s eliot. i do love eliot's four quartets.i wish i could see this… but i imagine the cotton face is perfect against the gold silk. i also love the background.and gee… thanks for stopping by with good wishes!

  2. nocton4 says:

    always so gorgeous xx

  3. Lyn says:

    It is so beautiful, I love the layers you make.loveLynxxx

  4. Trudi says:

    Oh how very thought provoking 🙂 Love you little clock, it's really beautiful!

  5. I love the colors in this page. I have always been an Eliot fan and recognized this excerpt immediately. We studied this particular poem in A'Level English Lit. class, most people thought it was terribly stiff, but I loved every minute of it! Thanks for this post! I was transported back to a time that was golden (like your clock) and in itself was timeless… because I still remember exactly how it felt.HugsCatherine

  6. Sweetpea says:

    I can't believe that this is one of YOUR favorite poems…it is one of mine, too! Hadn't thought about it in a long time so this happy stitching is a wonderful way to bring it all back. It's about time, I'd say…must go dig out the Eliot book :>]]

  7. A poem I didn't know – thank you, and I really like your clock

  8. haha! a stitch in time… ;)lovely details by the way =)not just this work..

  9. Emmy says:

    thank you for visiting my blog I love your clock it is baeutiful

Comments are closed.