Starry starry night

This is a translucent moon (silk organza and handmade paper) sandwiched between two pages, and when the book is bound, the ‘window’ should line up with and fit over yesterday’s moon.

There are lots of stars in this sky.

It surprises me every year how quickly and how suddenly it gets dark at this time of year.  We seem to go from daylight to night in a matter of minutes.  And of course in a couple of weeks, the clocks go back and it will be dark even earlier.  Being a ‘winter’ person, I quite like the dark.

This entry was posted in sketchbook project and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Starry starry night

  1. nocton4 says:

    an autumn and winter lover here too, gorgeous work as always x

  2. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks, nocton 🙂

  3. Jenevieve says:

    Looks fantastic, a pretty scene! I also love autumn and winter, summer's nice but I love the change in everything! 🙂 x

  4. Robyn says:

    Love what you are doing…thanks for sharing it all 🙂

  5. kaite says:

    It's absorbing watching how you are working this book, i love the moon over moon idea. Our clocks went forward 2 weeks ago, daylight wasting to me as i'm an early morn person and the evening light doesn't help at all.

  6. karen says:

    I am also a winter person and adore the dark evenings.

  7. Gosh this is the second blog I have read this morning about the night sky! Love your work

  8. Victoria says:

    Lovely!(I'm not a winter person, and love the daylight… but last night, after the rain ended and the wind blew the clouds away, the stars were so bright and beautiful… took my breath away.)

  9. Mnemosyne says:

    this is a beautiful piece!

Comments are closed.