Beyond the Stars

I know this cloth book is taking up all my time at present, and will continue to do so for several more weeks.  I hope that it won’t become tedious for some of you.  I’ve been thinking about this issue a little, and have become a bit concerned about whether people will get bored of seeing page after page, especially as there are so many more to come.  This led me to ask myself whether I’m writing for myself or for an audience.  Essentially, I think of this blog as me talking to myself – a place to collect thoughts and processes, just like a cloth is a place to collect thoughts and stitches.  I’m always surprised and delighted when someone else joins in the conversation.

I have many ideas for other things that I would like to pursue, but I think for now I’ll stick to this one project so that it has my full attention.  I wish there was another word for ‘project’.  There’s something about the word that implies ‘just another thing to get finished’, ‘the latest thing’, and I feel that this little book is somehow more meaningful than that. 

This is at least the last of the starry sky pages for a while.  This one is made from layered silk, satin, crystal organza, tulle and nylon chiffon, stitched quite simply.  The next page will be quite a marathon, I suspect, and I’m not sure how I’m going to tackle it.  Enjoy your weekend while I think about that.

This entry was posted in sketchbook project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Beyond the Stars

  1. crafts@home says:

    It is very meaningful and its lovely watching its progression,

  2. Actually Karen this simple book is on another level quite profound and can take us to a place of real meaning!Suzy

  3. yvette says:

    challenge although it has some competion element..no project..work in progressit's good and very beautiful page!love

  4. Marti says:

    One can never get tired when viewing such beautiful creative work. I think of your cloth book as a creation because each page contributes to the whole and the whole is evolving into a totality of wonder.

  5. karen says:

    definitely not bored of seeing this. I too worry though, do people get sick of seeing white?? but what we do is what we are, it speaks of us. as for other words….assignment, maybe not. enterprise?venture?idea?concept? I have a thesaurus, can you tell??

  6. kaite says:

    You write for You, and we enjoy reading and viewing whatever you offer, that's how it works. Your project – your current artwork – your pursuit – or just your Book. k.

  7. I'm certainly not bored with it, I'm enjoying seeing your book develop, lovely work.

  8. sweetypie says:

    believe me, you are not tedious,w e are glued to our screens. I was at a quilt exhibition today and a crowd of ladies were sat, drinking tea and we were all discussing your story book we avidly await your next post

  9. Penny says:

    Oh no, we want to see everything as it appears to you! I don't think I could ever get tired of watching someone's artwork evolve and become. Your thought about the word 'project' intrigued me because I have thought the same thing about that word. It sounds so 'industrial'. Like something on a to-do list. I think I shall stop using that word altogether.

  10. Not bored of seeing all the little parts of your most recent "enterprise". Can you tell that I was a grant writer? 🙂 Lovely work Karen. what fun!

  11. Suzanna says:

    I too am really enjoying watching this project evolve. It's not boring at all, in fact it seems courageous …

  12. karen…it's what you want to do.period. and this blog as any blog is ameans of keeping track of one'sself with company along the way.i don't comment on this because iam learning as i watch what you aredoing. i think this process is toocomplex for me, i probably wouldnever attempt it, but if i evershould, i would know where to comefor advice and encouragement.i love everything you do.

Comments are closed.