Keep Calm and Carry On

I have a postcard pinned to the noticeboard above my desk with those words printed on it.  That 1940s cheerful stoicism makes me smile.
So, after yesterday’s sturm, drang and angst, I kept calm and carried on:

This page will sit to the right of the last page I showed here in a double page spread.

The cliff is made from white silk with pieces of hand-dyed silk chiffon stitched down to form something like shadows.  I couched some threads and yarns down to give the impression of fissures in the cliff face.  The stones and rocks beneath are applied shapes, needle-turned, with simple hand stitches to suggest grass.
Thank you, everyone who shared thoughts about why we create and show work.  The human condition fascinates me.  Occasionally I forget that I am human myself.
Enjoy your weekend too 🙂

This entry was posted in sketchbook project and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Keep Calm and Carry On

  1. karen says:

    wordpress? let me know how it goes, I've often thought about changing, maybe to typepad but it seems such a daunting task

    • Karen Turner says:

      Easy peasy!
      Once you get your head round how the dashboard works…

      • Lilli Sutherland says:

        Hi Karen, I couldn’t comment on the previous blog, but it seems that I can reply easily here! Yippee! I’m loving your cloth book.

        • Karen Turner says:

          Lilli, how lovely to see you here! Blogger seems to make the whole commenting system ridiculously difficult. So glad you could join us 😀

  2. Mnemosyne says:

    i checked out typepad too but if i remember correctly to really get a good grip on the site you'd have to pay a fee. i've thoroughly enjoyed your cloth book and can't wait to see the next.

  3. Karen, Ive loved watching your cloth book as it has evolved. You obviously love what you do.

  4. Hi Karen,WOW.. this is fabulous! I love the way that, although you've translated it into cloth, it remains very painterly. The cliff is fantastic and I love the stitching details around teh little huddle of rocks at the base. Really nice! Have a great weekend too :)HugsCatherine

  5. the cliff shadows and fissures arebeautifully done…this is hardto do..and you've done it! iwill study this…thanks!

  6. Deborah says:

    Lovely details!

  7. Each page just keeps getting better. I love them all, but this one really speaks to me for some reason. It's absolutely lovely. I especially LOVE the stitched scene at the base of the cliff.;~) Debi

  8. Penny says:

    This is beautiful. Sometimes a little discomfort over the human condition can add a bit of spirit and soul to our work.

  9. kaite says:

    that’s clever, you managed to move the whole blog over, archives and all. well done.

  10. paddysdaughter says:

    Love your book, it is great, I look forward to each addition. Good decision to move to WordPress, I did it a year or so ago, having tried Blogger and got sick of its frustrating problems. For a free system this is great, lots of options to personalize it, and very easy to use once you know how. All the best.

  11. karen says:

    I am very impressed!!!! now get the kettle on cos i’m coming round for a tutorial!!

  12. Marti says:

    Stones and rocks tell deep stories, the little rocks just beckon to explore this cloth…Congratulations on keeping calm and carrying on over into this new blog format which is terrific. Well done.

  13. Liz price says:

    Ok I have made it to the new blog-locks good

  14. maggi21 says:

    Welcome to WordPress. You are going to love it here. This latest page is beautiful.

  15. Penny says:

    Welcome to your new home!

  16. serenapotter says:

    welcome. looks good.

  17. Sweetpea says:

    Look’in pretty wonderful over here, K!
    CONGRATS on *moving house* so easily :>]]

    p.s. have updated your link on my blogroll
    p.p.s. how did you happen to choose WordPress over Typepad?

    • Karen Turner says:

      WordPress is free, Typepad (apart from the very basic free version, which is very very basic) costs money. Simple as that, really 🙂
      Thanks for updating the link.
      A surprisingly stress-free move in the end!

  18. Kristin says:

    Beautiful new blog! I haven’t had a chance yet to tell you how amazing your stitched book is. Truly amazing! Can’t wait to catch up on things here.

  19. Els says:

    O Karen, I love the worn pieces of fabric for the stones!!

Comments are closed.