So, where were we?

The next page, I think, is this one:

The lettering on this page is couched, not stitched. I found that couching a thread gives a finer line and can be done on a slightly smaller scale.  I added the little house button as a bird box, and the heart-shaped wishes are punched paper shapes.  I made a couple of holes in them so I could stitch them down like buttons.
The trees are made from hand-dyed felt and boiled wool scraps, and the trunks are all needle-turned applique. 

More cotton gauze/scrim for grass.  I really like the texture and versatility of scrim, which I’ve used for both land and sky at various times.

It’s becoming clear that I will have to use some sort of binding around the edges of the pages.  There are so many fragile and sheer fabrics that even with careful and infrequent handling, they’re starting to fray and disintegrate a little.  I don’t mind the fraying so much, but the disintegration is not such a good look on this occasion.  I don’t think I want to use standard quilt binding, which may overwhelm the page on this scale, so I’ll also start thinking about this.

This entry was posted in Cloth books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to So, where were we?

  1. Penny says:

    When I was making bookart I often took ribbon, folded it and stitched it around the edges of each page. You can use a sheer which is easily found at fabric and craft stores and it hardly shows (if you match the color to your page). It takes time but its worth it.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Funny you should say that – earlier today I tried holding a piece of sheer ribbon against the edge, and it looks OK. Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. karen says:

    have you thought about simply buttonholing around the edge. I do that a lot and it binds really well yet remains delicate depending on the thread you use.

  3. oh I was going to suggest button holing but someone beat me to it! Is it soft enough to do a rolled edge rather like a silk scarf?

    • Karen Turner says:

      Ah – that would have been nice. No, I think the edges are perhaps a little too bulky, since every page has a backing layer of cotton fabric – just to give a bit of substance to all the fine sheers. I may do something like that on the cover though… thanks for the idea, Joanna.

  4. SandraG. says:

    Love it, love it, love it : ) I with the buttonhole stitching if it’s easy enough to sew through : ) BTW – love your new “home” the other was quite nice but this one is soooo alive and spacious loooking : ) Love your sketch book project pages, they are reeeally wonderful, thanks for sharing your process, I truly enjoy my daily stop here : )
    Blessings, Sandra in AZ, USA

    • Karen Turner says:

      It surprised me how essentially the same blog (I just moved the whole thing) can look so different over here. And I agree that it looks and feels more spacious – maybe because this is two columns and the other was three? Anyway, I’m settling in well 🙂
      Thanks for your visit and for your kind words.

  5. Maggi says:

    I love this page. What a good idea to couch the words. Look forward to seeing how you decide to deal with the page edges.

  6. Judith Eddington says:

    Just found your blog, so will be busy catching up on the archives. I love your work! This page of the book is my favorite so far, i especially love the hearts. I would love to know what stamp that is as it has a lovely “freeform” look about it. Also I have just got into scrim and wondered what you used to dye yours.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Judith and welcome!
      The heart punch is the XCut ‘funky heart’ – I don’t know if they come in different sizes, but mine is very small (less than half an inch)
      I usually dye scrim with procion, although I have also used dylon cold water dyes. You can also paint dye them in diluted acrylics.
      Happy reading 🙂

  7. I really love the way you think and the way you presented this thought on quilt 🙂

  8. snoozerider says:

    I would definitely like to live in your land where wishes grow on trees! This is a beautiful piece. I will definitely give couching letters a try after seeing this as I agree it gives a lovely smooth line.

Comments are closed.