Sweet dreams…

… rarely visit me, but I live in hope.

Mostly my dreams can be filed in the ‘decidedly weird’ category, along with the fifty-foot giraffe that appeared the other night. 

In this story, however, life is a little more simple.  The premise is, of course, that the mythical Dream Spinner picks a wish from a tree and makes it into a thread which becomes a dream.  The cloth book is a little less challenging than the paper-based story, as I decided to leave out the alternative curses that would bring unpleasant dreams.  Maybe that’s why I’m getting them all. 

I’ll admit to cheating a little with this one: I used Bondaweb to fuse the two halves to the page before couching around the edges and adding more stitching.  I don’t often use fusibles because I don’t like the way they change the hand of the cloth. In this case, since the page is always going to lie flat, I figured it wouldn’t matter so much – and it did make my job a lot easier.

This entry was posted in Cloth books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Sweet dreams…

  1. lyn says:

    This is looking really lovely. I love the textures and colours you achieve.
    I don’t think I have ever had a dream about a giant giraffe but live in hope!
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  2. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks, Lyn. You never know whose dream that giraffe might wander into next…

  3. kaite says:

    hi Karen, are you still loving this wordpress blog? i laughed out loud about your 50′ giraffe, mine are often extremely weird also but no giraffe yet.
    You shouldn’t feel the need to excuse yourself for using a fusible, they do an excellent job when they’re needed. That’s a very interesting page, i’m really enjoying seeing how this book is progressing. cheers and thankyou for your lovely comment on mine. k.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Still loving it, thanks Kaite. I think I’ll be very happy here.
      I wonder why I have the feeling that fusibles need excusing. I agree that they can be very useful, as in this case. Too modern, maybe. However, if they’d had such a thing two hundred years ago, I bet they’d have used it too. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Penny says:

    I LOVE this page – the design, the thoughts and the colors!! I use “Mistyfuse” and really do like it since it is so fine that you can’t even tell its been fused and as you said it can be so helpful when you need a flat surface. I have even used it under chiffon and organza and it can’t be seen. Sweet dreams!!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Penny. I have some fusefx, which I think (?) is the same thing as mistyfuse. I’ve used it before under a sheer, but you can still see it slightly – but actually I like the fact that you can just make it out in the form of a very fine web underneath the fabric. The fabrics I used on this page are opaque heavyweight silk, so you’d never know the fusible was there. Sweet dreams to you too!

  5. Jan Marriott says:

    OK Karen, we seem to be on track now…I am getting your posts via email. chat soon.

  6. Deborah says:

    Great piece1 I love the words and design. My dreams are generally weird, too, although there haven’t been any giraffes. Maybe tonight. . . the power of suggestion . . .

  7. naperie says:

    I love the idea of picking wishes from a tree, and then connecting dreams to threads.. absolutely magical. I love your work, best wishes, Fiona

  8. Debi Minter says:

    Where did you find the information about the wishing tree and the thread? I’d love to know more about it. As, usual, your new page is amazing. I love every little thing about it. You know, all the design elements. Yup! It’s a 10 pointer! So, did you use the WordPress.com where you find your own web host, or did you use the free design? I’ve been reading about both of them and wondered which was you went.
    ;~) Debi

    • Karen Turner says:

      Debi, the story comes from my Sketchbook Project (see the tab at the top of the page). It’s my own story; one I made up for the ‘Night time Stories’ theme. In my strange little world, the Dream Spinner is a mysterious woman who lives far away, in the Land where Dreams are made. Every night she spins a wish into a thread, and the thread becomes a dream, every night a different thread/dream. She certainly span a strange one for me the other night.
      I don’t know the difference between the wordpress blogs, but I assume I just have the free one. I don’t know anything about finding my own web host, and I don’t really understand what that means. I’m still a bit of a luddite at heart. I hope this answers your questions; thanks for stopping by 🙂

  9. Lynn says:

    I love the flower! The hand stitching, beads … and are those sequins? Lovely!

  10. Joanna says:

    I dislike the way fusibe stiffen fabric but someone said that misty fuse stays soft, or have you tried the powdered stuff?

    • Karen Turner says:

      Yes, the very fine fusible does stay quite soft, and doesn’t have as much ‘substance’. I’ve tried the powdered stuff, but it can be a bit hit and miss – mostly miss, in my experience!

  11. nancy says:

    wow… you moved! and i am here finally to say i hope you will be happy in your new home… thanks for coming by mine… i had been out of contact for a bit there… too many things to do with jude’s class and my hectic life.
    i love your little story cloths… this one especially. there is something about two half circles not matching that i find attractive and meaning full… two halves rarely match, do they? the little house button for a birdhouse is a stroke of genius!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Oh, thank you, Nancy; how lovely to see you here. The little cloth illustrations here are all pages of one story – you can read the whole thing on the Sketchbook Book page, if you’re interested. It’s been fun finding all the little details for these pages.

  12. I like this. the colors are very satisfying. Hey, did you ever hear about Synsepalum dulcificum or “the miracle fruit”? Well you chew on it and anything sweet that you eat after it will taste acid or sour, and anything acid or sour becomes sweet. We have these growing in the nursery at work ready to plant in the garden there and I’ve tried them and it is unbelievable!!! So that must be your plant!

  13. serenapotter says:

    this is such an excellent page!
    i wish i had it framed in my house somewhere.
    i like the nod to the childlike and the message and the colors.

    very well done karen !

  14. maggi21 says:

    Another lovely page. Bondaweb is a good idea to use for things where the hand does not matter. I use Mistyfuse for anything that needs to drape more and like its fineness for using with transfer foils – less solid than Bondaweb.

Comments are closed.