On twittering crocodiles

Worth reiterating, perhaps, that these cloth pages are meant to illustrate one continuous story.  I was hoping it would be something like a children’s picture book (the full written version of it is here, if you’re interested).  Maybe this will become more obvious once the pages are bound together in book form.  I showed the first few pages to a friend recently, and he wanted to know why there were so many ‘sayings’ on every page.  It didn’t seem at all clear that this was any kind of story.  It strikes me that if I have to explain what it is, then it can’t be that good.  Anyway, onward, to the crocodile:

Dreams are usually quite surreal, where things are not quite as they seem.

Mostly, I don’t like what I think of as ‘corny’ fabrics that are printed to look like something else – such as animal prints, stones, roof tiles etc – but in this case the snakeskin effect silk (from an old silk blouse, charity shop) was quite useful. 

And, of course, there had to be a few more stones…

A note on comments, by the way – now that I have the ‘reply to comments’ feature, I’ll probably reply to comments here on the blog rather than individually by email, as I used to do on blogger.  Please do feel free to add to each other’s comments, if you’d like to.

This entry was posted in Cloth books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to On twittering crocodiles

  1. maggi21 says:

    I bet any child would be able to follow the story and not see it as a random collection of sayings. The snakeskin silk is just right for this image.

  2. You can put a random selection of images together and people willtry to make ense of it. How much of a story it becomes is rather like beauty and is in the eye of the beholder.

  3. Debi Minter says:

    The first thing I thought of when I read your post was “Where did she get that fabric for the Croc. But happily you answered my question as I read further. I think this is a darling page!

  4. Penny says:

    I went back and read the whole story and it made perfect sense to me – and I would delight in turning each page to see what comes next. LOVE that crocodile!

  5. lyn says:

    I agree with Penny, the story does make sense. This page is great, Mr Croc looks good but the thought of a snapping song bird!
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  6. Trudi says:

    Of course, out of context the pages will not make sense to the uneducated, I guarantee when you have it all bound together it will read even more enchantingly than the paper version, such a tactile way to read a book! It’s looking fabtastic!

  7. sandra says:

    Hey Karen,

    I love your new home! Did you change to wordpress, because of the reply funtion? I think it must have been quite a job to put thing over to another blog provider.
    Your new blog really looks lovely. I have subscribed, hope I did everything alright.
    And please don’t worry about what people say about your book, for it says more about them then about your work. I think your book is lovely and look forward to read and see more of it.

    hugs

    • Karen Turner says:

      Sandra, how great to see you here 🙂
      Yes, I changed for the comments feature, mainly. Blogger seems to make it really complicated to comment and share thoughts. I think (I hope!) it’s easier for everyone here. Thanks for stopping by; I’ll add your blog to my list.

  8. kaite says:

    yep, i too went back and read the whole story, poof! let the songbird give your friend a little nip! he might just ‘get’ it then. it’s a very imaginative, colourful and textural story. stitch on…..kaite

  9. Karen Turner says:

    Just wanted to say thanks for the encouragement, folks 🙂

  10. Nice work, i like your blog and the meaningful quilt design you made and presented in your blog 🙂

Comments are closed.