Draw, stitch

The weekend was populated with pumpkins, friends and starry skies, but I still managed to find time for another page:

Actually, I had started it before the weekend, and had already unpicked most of it.  I tried doing the figure in applique, but it looked really, really, unbelievably bad.  So bad I couldn’t bear to take a picture of it, so I unpicked and started again.  In the end I drew the figure on a piece of smooth silk and coloured it with Inktense pencils and watercolour pencils, then ironed it to the background with Bondaweb.  I couched some fine silk thread outlines and couched the lettering.  The spindle is made from card, and the fibre is hand-spun silk.

This entry was posted in Cloth books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Draw, stitch

  1. Els says:

    Beautiful, Karen. I would like to know what dreams she would be spinning for me …

  2. grace Forrest~Maestas says:

    she’s wonderful, karen. i love her layered clothing…and tho she is surreal, she is
    grounded by these.

  3. Penny says:

    She’s beautiful! We all need a dreamweaver in our lives.

  4. arlee says:

    sensitively done!

  5. Jan Marriott says:

    very satisfying to have another page.

  6. sandra says:

    Oh, karen I love the mixture of techniques. And that rug is so real, as if I could pick it up.

  7. Debi Minter says:

    Okay, double WOW! She is beautiful! You have to be one of the most prolific stitchers I know! The colors and design are exquisite. How nice to have your very own dream spinner.
    :~) Debi

  8. karen says:

    looking good!!!!

  9. Beautiful :), you did it with perfection 🙂

Comments are closed.