Stitching a wish

Today I’m wondering about hearts.  I think wishes must be heart-shaped, since we wish for our heart’s desire.  But what actually is heart-shaped, and where does ‘heart shaped’ come from?  Hearts (real hearts, circulating blood and keeping us alive) are more fist-shaped than heart-shaped.  Funny what you think about sometimes while stitching.

This entry was posted in textile art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Stitching a wish

  1. Deborah says:

    Gorgeous! I love the colors and the texture from the stitching!

  2. lyn says:

    What a lovly technique, I am very interested in it.
    Heart shaped, I am not sure when

  3. lyn says:

    What a lovly technique, I am very interested in it.
    Heart shaped, I am not sure when we started with this familiar shape?
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  4. ljcillustration says:

    Well, you got me thinking about the origins of the heart shape so I looked it up on Wikipedia which says there is controversy about the origins……
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heart_(symbol)
    Love the colour of your stitched heart. Thanks for visiting my blog – about the rats, I’ve heard they make excellent pets. My Ratty keeps turning up in unexpected places & scaring me half to death!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Yes, I saw that too… interesting!
      Rats really do make great little pets. We’ve had 19 over the past 10 years or so – each one a totally different little character and personality, making many happy memories. It’s a real shame they have such short lives.

  5. Jan Marriott says:

    one of the reasons we stitch is to let our minds wander.

  6. kaite says:

    i read somewhere that the heart shape came from the shape that 2 swans’ necks make when they are in the courtship dance, the point where they are facing each other with heads together. k.

  7. Sweetpea says:

    I’m loving the every-which-way stitches on the heart…gives it an energy all its own. Like our own hearts, I suppose….

    About what we think while stitching – I’ve been thinking a lot about that lately!

  8. serenapotter says:

    i’ve always thought what we think while we stitch shapes our work
    i think that’s why quilts that take years
    are spectacular
    imagine all that conversation
    everything held in it. even from a scientific perspective
    the skin cells, and oil, and hair
    that’s dropped in.

    • Karen Turner says:

      That is so true, Serena. Sometimes I pick up a quilt or cushion cover that I made years ago, and I can still remember bits of what I was thinking or talking about as I stitched it. I find it fascinating that cloth and stitches can hold and preserve memories in this way.

  9. Awesome ! You used nice combination of the colours :), looking beautiful.

Comments are closed.