Picture the wind

When I was very young, I had a story book that depicted the wind as a golden-haired puff-cheeked lad, blowing across the page from the top left hand corner.  I don’t remember the story, or any other illustration in the book apart from that one.  I guess I can’t claim any credit for my own derivative composition:

My own wind is rather greyer and older than the boy I remember from my picture book, and I’m not even entirely sure whether it is male or female.  Not that it matters much.

The figure is made from hand-dyed silk chiffon, with an outline couched around the edges.

There is another little village in the corner.  Again, hand-pieced patchwork applied to the background:

Although I can begin to see an end to the pages – only about another ten or so to go – I’m starting to realise how much more work there will be beyond that.  Stitching pairs of pages together, binding the edges, making a cover, making a lining for the cover, perhaps making a title page, binding the pages into the cover… I wonder how much older I will be when it’s done.

This entry was posted in Cloth books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Picture the wind

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Love the wind and listening to it. You symbolized it perfectly, what a great page for your book.

  2. Penny says:

    Looking at the thread she holds in her hand makes me think that she is really not wind but that soft breeze that flows over each of us who think and work in terms of needle and thread. Perhaps she’s send new ideas your way even as I write this.

  3. Ger says:

    Your wind looks like Mae West, which I find most appropriate + cheering … + that church tower with its old stone wall…

  4. Kristin says:

    This book will be so special. Perhaps you should look into having it shown in a gallery before the pages are sewn together. Love your wind child!

  5. karen says:

    it’s going to be the most amazing book…

  6. Debi Minter says:

    I love this one!!! Of course I love swirlies, and wind, so maybe that explains it. I especially love the little town!

    ;~) Debi

  7. tina slipper says:

    so youl be a bit older maybe a lot older, but what a wonderful acomplishment!

  8. lilli Sutherland says:

    I love that the figure could be a girl or a boy, …adorable.

  9. Judith Eddington says:

    My favourite bit is also the little village, it looks so safe and cosy nestled against the trees. I think the breeze is female too!

  10. kaite says:

    It doesn’t matter how much older you will be when it’s done as long as you are enjoying the process. i had a book or two that had the wind like that as well, and i think your wind is a girl, she has girl’s arms.

  11. Marti says:

    To create as you do with this little book must feel like time is suspended; each page a little world, a moment in time, although I know that it takes a lot of time and work to create such beauty. If you are so immersed in your work that you only come up for air when the page is done, then it is a good thing, and however long it takes, to be one with the process, is quite an ageless gift.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Marti, thank you. You articulated exactly what it feels like, and what I find so difficult to put into words: each page a little world… coming up for air only at the end of each one. I’ve always maintained that the process is the only thing that really matters. Keeping completed work, as a possession, doesn’t interest me much, but the process of making it – it’s truly magical. Exhausting, exhilarating, even tedious sometimes – but magical nonetheless.

  12. naperie says:

    I love the wind blowing towards the village. I love her/his plump cheeks and stitched breath, gorgeous.
    When I was girl I use to imagine that the wind took up all our words and thoughts and if you listened hard enough you might just be able to hear other voices in the breeze. It doesn’t mater how old you are; the inner child stays with you.

Comments are closed.