Dreaming

I’ve been thinking a lot about dreams while working on these cloth pages.  I’ve been thinking about where they come from, and whether they mean anything.  I used to believe that everything meant something, but now I’m not so sure.  Now I tend to think that some things ‘just happen’, for no particular reason, and that life is (among other things) a random series of events.  I know that the human tendency is to find meaning in patterns, whether those patterns are visual or circumstantial.  Finding meaning is one thing; believing in that meaning is quite another, and I’m not certain about what I believe.

This page is one of a double page spread, where the landscape extends across both pages:

I quite like that bit of emptiness at the left hand side.  It seems like an area of not-knowing.  Sometimes it’s good not to know.

This entry was posted in Cloth books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dreaming

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Beautiful page. How did you make that sun so radiant?

    Have a lovely start of your week.

    • Karen Turner says:

      The radiant sun – magical cloth 😉
      It’s a tiny scrap of synthetic, with gold threads woven through it. One of those pieces I thought I would never use…
      Thanks for visiting, Elizabeth.

  2. Bea says:

    I love the fact that the sun is in the ’empty’ page – makes it seem very positive and full of potential. A lovely page.

  3. Penny says:

    I love the open space also. Its almost as if we make our own dreams come true and that space is just waiting for someone to fill it.

  4. kaite says:

    i’m not sure about the dream spinning, but it’s a welcoming and comfortable landscape.

  5. Deborah says:

    Lovely piece. I like the openness to new and good possibilities.

  6. I’m not so sure the human tendency isn’t more like finding patterns in meaning. I guess we need meaning to justify our own existance… otherwise it would all be meaning-less. But maybe, if we could shift our perspective a little, that would be ok?… Sort of like, we were looking at the pattern made by the “positive” spaces, but were then able to see the pattern made by the “negative” spaces [which is what has captured my attention recently in cloth terms] and maybe that’s what’s so nice about your open space, it’s what’s “not” there that makes it so appealing???. My dreams are wierd. Vivid and at least seemingly unconnected to anything that happens to me in the awake hours. I don’t pay any heed to them whatsoever. To me, it’s like de-toxing from the day 😉 White noise!
    I love the way you used a floral print to hint at vegetation in the landscape. Very subtle. Lovely work, Karen, and lovely thoughts. Have a great week!
    Hugs
    Catherine

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks for these thoughts, Catherine. I agree with you about the dreams – white noise, yes. I find dreams interesting, but not necessarily meaningful. That floral print was part of a charity shop skirt, which I overdyed. It’s the most lovely soft cotton lawn (ha – lawn – grass…)

  7. Debi Minter says:

    I absolutely adore the lace behind the sun. Beautiful sunrays!!!! May I borrow this idea if I ever find a piece of yellow lace???

    ;~) Debi

    • Karen Turner says:

      Of course, Debi – but this lace was not always yellow! It’s a scrap of ivory synthetic lace that I painted with diluted acrylics.

Comments are closed.