Under the sea

Who knows where your dreams will take you?

This one was a joy to make.  The background is layered sheers with yarns beneath the top layer of chiffon.  The mermaid is applique, with simple quilting and embroidery, and the sea bed is just applied fabrics and beads. 

I took the pages thus far to visit my mum yesterday, and she came up with a really great idea: instead of binding the pages into a book, how about stitching them together to make a frieze?  A really long, thin quilt could be displayed more easily than a book (should I ever want to exhibit this somewhere) and the whole thing could still be folded concertina-style to store in the shape of a book.  I’m currently re-thinking the design, as it will now need some sort of backing.  I also like the idea that this will be a ‘long cloth’, like the thread it describes, and that the form will visually reflect the content.

This entry was posted in Cloth books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Under the sea

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Oh that sentence: Follow the thread of your dream. That is a good one together with a beautiful mermaid. Think this will be my favorite one.

    Have a lovely day.

  2. Jill says:

    what a great idea, to have it as a long cloth – visually fabulous. wonderful work as ever 🙂

  3. sandra says:

    also love follow the thread of your dream. And what a great idea your mom had. It would be great to see the whole story at once and yet keeping the bookform, it’s a splendid idea!
    Karen your comment arrived at my blog as I was still working on the post, that was nice, it was the very first time that such a thing happened. As your comment arrived I was writing about my problem of fitting blogging into my life. Would you like to tell me how you fit blogging into your life? I think I need some structure….
    hugs,

    • Karen Turner says:

      I went back to your blog for a second visit, Sandra. I thought the post was finished as it came up in googlereader. Sorry to have arrived too early!

  4. Penny says:

    Another beautiful page. I love the idea of a long cloth – still in book form but spread out in a continuous journey. I’m all about the journey and think it would give a wonderful vision to the viewer.

  5. Lenka Štrosová says:

    Wa ! It is very nice idea, long book … thank your mother 🙂

  6. oh yes, a long cloth book would be very good.

  7. serenapotter says:

    this is awesome!

  8. Victoria says:

    I wish you could see the pages of Karen’s book – the photographs do not do justice to the absolutely stunning pictures Karen has created. The strong colours are much more vibrant and the softer shades are so much more varied and intricately worked. The night time pages have so many layers of differently coloured fabrics and the visual effect is amazing. The texture of the many many varied types of fabrics have to be seen to be really appreciated – they are superb. I have seen so much of Karen’s creative work and was almost stunned into silence by the Distaff Side Quilt but with this latest project Karen has really excelled herself.

  9. Debi Minter says:

    Just wonderful. I also like the idea of a “longcloth” so you can visually follow the story. You could also roll it up and tie a piece of silk to hold it shut when it’s not on display.

    ;~) Debi

    • Karen Turner says:

      I’ll try a few ideas with the storage, Debi. Currently I’m thinking of folding it concertina-style, but I’ll look at the option of rolling it too. Thanks for the idea!

  10. Clare W says:

    how do you do so much?

  11. grace Forrest~Maestas says:

    your Continuation with this piece of work is very beauty full to me. i look at the
    stitching and marvel, but also i see more of the woman who stitches
    and marvel most at this.

Comments are closed.