Treasure

The other side of the ‘under the sea’ pair:

The treasure chest is made from pieced silk, with bits of old jewellery and beads for contents. 

The fish are needle-turned silk applique with silk chiffon fins and tails.

A couple of people have asked me how I do so much.  The question puzzles me, because I really don’t think I do.  In fact, some days I berate myself for not doing enough.  I stitch (usually) for around 4-5 hours most weekdays.  I have no children; at present I have no paid employment commitments; and I have a limited social life – all of which means I have quite a lot of time.  In the case of the cloth book pages, the design and composition are already done so it’s really just a matter of replicating what’s already there.  The pages are only 8″ x 10″, an easily manageable size.  There’s also an element of seeing the end in sight now – the home straight – that I think always encourages a slight acceleration of pace.

Enjoy your weekend; I’ll try and do a little less (!) and will be back on Monday.

This entry was posted in Cloth books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Treasure

  1. @home says:

    Love this one Karen, it’s really beautiful x

  2. kaite says:

    yep, 4 – 5 hours a day will do it, i’m lucky if i can get 4 – 5 hours a week. Priorities, that’s the problem, and domestic commitments. I do like your attention to detail, and i love the little treasure chest.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Kaite. I know I’m very lucky to have all this time, and I try to make the most of it.

      • Lilli says:

        I am so glad that you have a lifestyle which gives you the time to make these amazing pieces of art. It is such a treat to look at them. They are so delicious!! Long may you continue to create!

  3. Elizabeth says:

    The fish are fantastic but the sentence caught my heart. Thank you for another beautiful page.

    Have a glorious weekend.

  4. Penny says:

    Love the fish!! Like you I don’t have outside employment commitments so I work many hours in my studio. Its bliss to have a whole block of time to just sit and stitch. I try to put in 25-30 hours a week – don’t always make it though. I’m so grateful for the time that I do have. Your work is beautiful Karen – time well spent!

  5. Jan Marriott says:

    How lovely to sit and stitch….I’m sure it is very satisfying.

  6. Debi Minter says:

    Absolutely lovely Karen!!! When you’re done you should make a slide-show of the pages in order. I try and stitch for 30 minutes a day during the week (school you know) and as much as I can on the weekend. I wish I could spend more time with needle and thread as it’s the most relaxing thing I’ve ever done.

    ;~) Debi

  7. Deborah says:

    This is beautiful! I love the embellishments!

  8. Victoria says:

    Just catching up, and I must say that your cloth book is nothing short of enchanting!

  9. Sweetpea says:

    Don’t you dare “do a little less!” ;>}

    Those fishies are the most delicate creatures I have ever seen…their tails are positively diaphanous…all this underwater silk makes me want to go swimming!!!!!

  10. tina slipper says:

    you are actually your own treasure arnt you,,I see where I am going wrong as I am aflicted with to many little treasures, as usual karen your work is lovely.. and I love to watch it forming

  11. karen says:

    hope you are having a lovely,restful weekend.

Comments are closed.