All in a row

There’s something very interesting about rows.  The British are generally very good at queuing up for things, and a long line of people always says something to me about patience, stoicism and anticipation.  I also like the ambiguity of the word ‘row’ in isolation: you have to look at the context to see whether it means ‘line’ or ‘violent argument’ – or even ‘propel a small boat’.  I so admire the way poets work and play with words, lining them up and pairing odd companions.  

At the same time, there’s also something that disturbs me about this relentless line of hearts that represent dreams; something not entirely comfortable about the interminable nature of this endlessly repeated experience.  What if your dreams are never happy?  There’s a claustrophobic inevitability about the inescapable hold of dream after dream, the dread of a sleep that will bring neither rest nor refreshment.

But then I think far too much.  It is, after all, just a row of hearts…

This entry was posted in Cloth books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to All in a row

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Nothing is just a row, especially not when it is a row of hearts.

  2. Jan Marriott says:

    Karen…is the tone of your blog changing since you moved sites?? more introspective perhaps? or is it just me? ps. this is not a bad thing!

    • Karen Turner says:

      I don’t know, Jan… hadn’t really thought about it. That’s an interesting question. I do think of wordpress as being a little ‘quieter’ than blogger, for some reason, though I don’t know where that idea comes from. I’m naturally quite introspective.

  3. Debi Minter says:

    Lovely! Hearts are one of my favorite symbols.

    ;~) Debi

  4. kaite says:

    “there will be stories” doesn’t actually say always good stories, it just says stories, so that’s ok, it’s open to interpretation. k.

  5. Penny says:

    Don’t worry – there will always be an errant seed that plops itself in the middle of the line and shakes things up by blooming in an outrageous bright orange color!!

  6. serenapotter says:

    yeah i like it but you’re right there could be something almost morbid and terrifying in the background.

    • Karen Turner says:

      It’s not so much the background… I can’t quite put my finger on what disturbs me about this. Maybe it’s that those hearts look a bit like triffids, marching…

Comments are closed.