One door closes…

… and another door opens:

I thought it might be nice if the door on the last page actually opens and closes.  The hinge is made from a length of ribbon, and the door closes with a piece of green velcro (cunningly disguised as a tree). 

Wishing you all sweet dreams this weekend.

This entry was posted in Cloth books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to One door closes…

  1. Amo says:

    Oh this has been so lovely and the door is a wonderful finish!

  2. Susan says:

    This is sooo a-Door-able!!!! Ha Ha I could not resist!!!!

    Have a GREAT DAY!!

    Hugs,
    Susan

  3. serenapotter says:

    yes. you have a good weekend as well. i almost forgot it was friday.

    stellar use of the velcro. normally i find it a little tacky, is there a pun there,
    but you’ve done a high class job.

    what a work karen!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Actually I feel kind of dissatisfied with it, Serena, and I’m disappointed by that. I can’t explain it yet. Normally I don’t like velcro either – I don’t like the noise it makes – but that little scrap of green (green velcro! Totally exotic!) was just crying out to be a tree… A slightly noisy tree, but there it is.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Have a fantastic weekend and thank you for making this marvellous book.

  5. Deborah says:

    I love it! So clever!

  6. Gill watson says:

    Absolutely brilliant!!
    Thank you

  7. Jacky says:

    I havent been over for a while and I’ve missed so many wonderful pages!!!! Love the little mermaid and those fish with the silk chiffon fins and tails (love silk chiffon). Your mums idea of the concertina style book sounds perfect. One of my girlfriends did that with a round robin fabric book and it looks amazing when all opened.
    Your stitching and composition is beautiful…but it is your imagination that makes these pages so special.

    Enjoy your weekend.

    Jacky xox

  8. Penny says:

    How clever you are. I almost hate to see the door close — I was enjoying each page so much. But I know you’ll soon be on to something else, and I’ll look forward to it.

  9. nance says:

    this is particularly engaging. excellent needlework makes it come alive!

  10. Marti says:

    And the ending door just lets us open it and go back into this tiny world, only this time backwards, turning pages until we are at the beginning…

  11. Debi Minter says:

    As was said above… brilliant! I love the view outside the door.

    ;~) Debi

  12. Delightful! 🙂 It wasn’t until the last moment that noticed at the last moment the material of the door! Hmmm… that looks familiar!
    Hugs
    Catherine

  13. lyn says:

    This is so clever, I love it!
    love
    Lyn
    xxx

  14. I’ve been out of action computer wise so only just found your new blog. Good luck with it, did you find a way of adding followers? I just “liked” your fb page too. I have a fb page if you want to follow mine

    Have a great week :o)

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Carolyn, glad you could drop by. I think the only way to follow on wordpress is by subscribing.
      Welcome too to the fb page; I’m already a fan of yours 🙂

Comments are closed.