White

It seems delightfully apt that the first snow of the season fell last night as I completed this little cloth, which I am simply calling ‘Winter’:

Meant to hang in a window, this cloth is constructed around the translucent patchwork panel I made a while ago, from bits of lace and organza.  I gave it some borders of white muslin, front and back, leaving the central panel see-through.

These little squares across the top suggest the first snowflakes gently floating down from the sky.

Across the base of the cloth is the heart of winter, and the lattice pattern of heavy snow falling.

There is the ghost of a flower, waiting patiently underground, waiting for the snows to thaw in the spring.

And there are icicles at the base of the cloth, along with some lacework by Jack Frost.

There was a small shop update yesterday, though I think this white winter cloth will be a gift.  I’m going to allow myself a little break now, to recharge a little, to withdraw for a short time and to prepare some new ground.  It may just be a few days, or it may be a few weeks.  For once I’m going to take as long as I need.  Thank you, as always, for taking the time to visit, to read and to share your thoughts.

Just a reminder about comments: I now reply to comments here on the blog, rather than by email as I used to.  If your comment is a question, you might want to check back here for the answer.

This entry was posted in Reflections, textile art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to White

  1. @home says:

    Have a well earned break and enjoy the white stuff! 🙂

  2. Penny says:

    Snowy textures…will think of your lovely piece when the next snow storm hits!

  3. Jill says:

    beautiful work as ever .. this piece is truly evocative of winter, lovely.
    have a wonderful retreat, exactly the right time of year to do so.

  4. Lisa McGehee says:

    I’m anxiously awaiting our first snow – your beautiful work has inspired me to create my own snow scene – thank you.

  5. Penny says:

    What a wonderful cloth story! Now its time to ‘take time’ for yourself. Shhhh, we’ll be very quiet waiting for your return.

  6. Jan Marriott says:

    just lovely Karen. Seems strange that you have snow, whilst here in Ontario , at least in Toronto, there is nothing yet.

  7. Debi Minter says:

    Lovely white everywhere! I have one eye out the window looking at the new white stuff we got overnight. Your WINTER piece is so soothing and very lovely! And here I’ve been working on the summer part of my cloth summer into winter. I figured I’d work on the sun while it was so cold and snowy. Have a wonderful day and a nice break… I’ll be here when you get back!
    ;~) Debi

  8. Victoria says:

    I am the lucky recipient of this fabulous cloth – thank you so much Karen, you are such a special daughter! Ladies, once again the photos don’t really show the subtle colours – the inset piece is made up of squares of white, gold and cream coloured lace with two squares of blue and once of mauve hues. When held up to the light it looks different again. The delicate beading and the delightful squares at the top really do look like snowflakes tumbling. The long bugle beads which are the icicles at the lower edge glisten in the light and make this cloth look so magical and so aptly named as Winter. I’ll take great pleasure in seeing this every day and will treasure it always.

  9. sandra says:

    I love the quietness that is expressed in your cloth. Have a nice break, you deserve it. Take care!

    xxx

  10. Trudi says:

    Such a calm peaceful piece of cloth, how very special it feels 🙂 a fitting start to a peaceful break indeed. Enjoy!

    • Karen Turner says:

      I have about a million things I want to try and am looking forward to having a bit of space to experiment, Trudi. I’ll share the results here, I promise.

  11. judy martin says:

    I love that you gave this to your mother and that she commented here. It is a lovely piece, the idea of icicles is inspiring.

  12. lovely whiteness, greeting the snow . . .
    love that delicate heart!

  13. karen says:

    Love it! Hope you got to Harrogate. I spent a lot of money but really feel better for treating myself. Have a lovely break x

  14. karen says:

    shame we didn’t meet up. I did get talking to a stallholder who turned out to be a blogger who knew me. Felt a bit wierd, not celebrity like, I don’t mean that but just wierd that all these unknown faces can know who you are. She was lovely and had the most beautiful whitework. I bought a couple of bits from her.

    • Karen Turner says:

      It would have been good to meet. I might have been the only person in the world who knows what you look like 😉
      I didn’t really talk to anyone… took all my energy just to get round the thing. It’s so vast!

  15. karen says:

    plenty of people know what I look like!! Jenny Flower, DogDaisy chains…o.k. two people know what I look like!! oh and now the lovely lady from Harrogate….

  16. Deborah says:

    Lovely and delicate.

  17. deemallon says:

    what a beautiful piece and what an apt “window” into a period of quiet. The integrity of all the components and the heirloom-quality stitching make it truly stunning. Enjoy your retreat and rest and regeneration… I loved to read the word, “this time I will take as long as I need”.

  18. Sweetpea says:

    Came round here looking for you today…ah hah, a little break, no wonder. No need to reply, just checking that you were ok…
    Wonderful symbolism in ‘Winter’ ~ and those icicles are FAB.
    Enjoy your quiet time & see ya later!

Comments are closed.