Wordless weekend

Collaged tissue/ink background with resist painted watercolour paper and hand-dyed linen strips

This entry was posted in work on paper and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wordless weekend

  1. maggi21 says:

    I really like the definitions that you have added. Inspiration for future development.

  2. Karen, this is fabulous! I love the way that the collaged ink background looks like an old map. And I love the hanging labels. Alot of meaning here. Alot of things to think about.

  3. Sweetpea says:

    …those bits of torn cloth holding the tags, tied to that grid (?), like to a metal fence or the edge of a railroad, are reminding me of something I used to do as a kid while riding my bike around the neighborhood. I liked to leave bits of ribbon behind (or rickrack or bias tape that I stole from my grandma’s sewing kit), leave them tied to something. The excitement was going back to check on them later, see if they were still there. I always wanted these ribbons to be missing but they never were. In my imagination I wanted someone to find one, take it with them and wonder why…why would someone have left a tied ribbon?

    Isn’t it odd that I should be remembering this after all these years. hmmm.

    • Karen Turner says:

      A delightful story about leaving tracks… thanks so much for sharing this. You gave this page a lot of extra meaning. The grid is a piece of painted rug canvas. I’ve found it’s a great tool for hanging things from a page 🙂

  4. serenapotter says:

    it looks a little like tombstones to me.

  5. karen says:

    oh Karen, this is lovely, so precious.

Comments are closed.