Lines

Continuing to compile the Tracks sketchbook, I’m concentrating for now on the linear patterns.  At a later point I want to isolate some motifs – for instance, I can see little irregular crosses in some of those lines – and stitch some tiny motifs in a row.

layered fabrics with hand embroidery, approx. 2" x 6"

It’s quite a challenge to keep in mind that these patterns are not necessarily leading to anything immediate.  I’m more used to collecting images and making samples with a view to making a finished ‘product’ at the end of it.  But these are just an exercise in gathering, just for the fun of gathering.  I have an idea in my head that I’d like to make a sketchbook like this for every month of this year – a year in stitch, if you remember – so if that happens then there won’t be time to make anything else.

On a brief technical note, I intend to delete my old blogger blog (stitchinglife.blogspot.com) on 1st February.  If you are still using my old blog to find your way here, then please, please bookmark this page or find another method of getting here.  I’m increasingly having problems accessing google reader and blogger.  At the moment I can’t even get in to write a post on my old blog; I can only update the title.  And I still can’t comment on blogger blogs using my google profile. Grrr.

This entry was posted in samples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lines

  1. Elizabeth says:

    You’re training a totally different mindset, looking forward to read about your journey.

  2. Penny says:

    Sometimes a journey is even better when there is no definite destination.

    • Karen Turner says:

      But when I set out on a journey I like to know exactly where I’m going, the exact route, and exactly how long it will take, Penny… this is not in my comfort zone!

  3. serenapotter says:

    i’d love to have the gumption to do something like this.

    right now, because so much of my at home, domestic life is undone
    it’s nice to have a hobby that finishes and feels finished.

    not sure i could switch to another thought pattern
    but
    you’re definitely inspiring.

  4. Jan Marriott says:

    looks as if you are really enjoying this….

  5. karen says:

    it doesn’t matter that you have no specific outcome in mind. This is all a record of your thoughts and you may not use it for years, yet it will always be there on paper and in your subconscious too.

    • Karen Turner says:

      That’s true, Karen. It’s just a record, just a collection of images and thoughts… and I’ll come back to it all at some point. In fact I suspect it will be all the more interesting to come back to it after a year and see how differently I might look at it all.

  6. Deborah says:

    I’m enjoying this series. Very lovely.

Comments are closed.