Up there

Today there were tracks in the sky:

I should probably have stitched something blue and white but I didn’t.  Maybe tomorrow.

I found a little square of cotton fabric that had a kind of track printed on it so I made a page for it:

The stitched sample is made from layered fabrics with detached fly stitches on a length of hand-dyed cotton tape.  The inverted triangle stitches are made by working a detached fly stitch on top of a running stitch.  The edge of the cotton tape is covered with couched thread.

This entry was posted in samples, work on paper. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Up there

  1. love your work.x you asked about my tea dye (http://tryingtocreatearteveryday.blogspot.com)was very dark. I just put about 6 used teabags in a kilner jar but with this dye, l added an old iron nail ( one l got from The Victory in Portsmouth!). The nail seemed to have made the difference between the normal tea dye and this one. Hope this helps. lynda x

  2. Clare W says:

    I’m tracking your tracks!!

  3. Els says:

    Great lines Karen, over and over again !!!

  4. Bea says:

    I thought of you yesterday when I took a similar contrail shot – it looked like a row of blanket stitch across the sky – and the moon visible just below it.

  5. Sweetpea says:

    Doesn’t have to be contrails, K…
    prob doesn’t have to be blue,
    will be you, nonetheless.
    Good tracks, friend!

  6. sandra says:

    Yes, tracks in the sky so easily to be forgotten.

  7. Penny says:

    A good friend once told me ‘always look up’ — its amazing what me miss each day by keeping our eyes straight ahead.

    • Karen Turner says:

      That’s good advice, and very true. I seem to have spent most of the month either looking down at the ground or up at the sky!

Comments are closed.