Abstraction

“There is no abstract art.  You must always start with something.  Afterwards you can remove all traces of reality… the idea of the object will have left an indelible mark.” -Picasso

Abstract (as a transitive verb): take out of; extract; remove

I’m isolating some bits of the linear patterns to form little motifs that I can stitch repeatedly.  Still working on paper, for now, with plans to stitch quite a lot over the next week or so.

These are long pages that fold up and pull out.  The top one is an exercise in extending the linear patterns.

I added some stitch-type marks, again abstracted from some of the linear patterns.  Kind of itching to pick up a needle now, though I probably won’t reproduce these colours in cloth and thread.

 

This entry was posted in work on paper and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Abstraction

  1. Lilli Sutherland says:

    I’m liking this direction. Thank you for the quote about abstract art, that inspires me.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Feels like to colours have become bolder or is this just my imagination?

    • Karen Turner says:

      Only because I’m using up a supply of hand painted/printed papers from a few years ago. I was using brighter colours at that time. The stitched samples will be a little quieter, I think.

  3. angela says:

    I love the bright colours, will be interesting to see how muted you go when you get to stitching.

  4. Oh Wow! Stitching paper! Water color?
    What kind of thread do you use?
    this is “to the sky” inspiring …

  5. i am one to stay away from symmetry but
    am learning, seeing that patterns are important.
    i need to open mine eyes a bit wider.
    thank you . . .

  6. Penny says:

    I love that quotation! Your work is quite exciting — working with lines (in all variations) is working!!

Comments are closed.