Sampling

Getting away from paper and paint for a while, I’m making twelve little stitched samples based on some of the tracks patterns.  Each sample is about 7″ square and will be mounted on 8″ squares of black cotton to make a little cloth book.

The first one is finished:

This is whipped running stitch on hand-dyed scrim.  I pulled some of the threads out of the scrim to give it a more ancient, ragged look.

More tomorrow…

This entry was posted in samples, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sampling

  1. Penny says:

    I love this whipped running stitch — a perfect way to make tracks.

  2. Maggi says:

    Love the way it is translating into stitch. Whipped Running stitch is so versatile.

  3. love this work..remember to show us the completed book pleasexxlynda

  4. Elizabeth says:

    You’re on a roll or should I say, you are on the right track!!!!

  5. Jan Marriott says:

    Im sure you are going to enjoy making this book…off to a great start.

  6. Sweetpea says:

    SPLENDID!
    am not familiar with the whipped running stitch but the effect looks like the tread marks from my old mountain bike :>]]

  7. tina slipper says:

    I think you have captured the ancient effect perfectly, it looks like a very very thoughtfull piece.

  8. What exactly IS skrim? I think I have something like it here…almost like lint bandage?
    I love this, the colors the stitching. It does look ancient. Lovely. Bet it feels good.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Cotton scrim is a little bit like cheesecloth, Catherine, and I think it might go by a different name outside the UK. It is a little bit like bandage, but has a very loose weave and is very lightweight. If you iron it (as I did in this sample) you get a semi-sheer effect, whereas if you don’t iron it, you get something that looks a little more substantial. The threads are very easy to pull out; in fact, they almost fall out, so it can be a bit fiddly to work with and needs fairly gentle handling. It dyes beautifully.

  9. karen says:

    A great idea, a sample book! What a perfect way to save and showcase your stitching!!

Comments are closed.