Walking on sunshine

This time I tried some reverse applique, using the design from one of the footprint patterns I found:

reverse applique, 7" square

Just as an exercise, I wondered how narrow a line I could make as a border.  This is all turned edge reverse applique, so quite fiddly on this little shape.  The channel around the design turned out to be an eighth of an inch wide.

Then I made another sample, using the same design, trying out the pattern in stitch, and then trying out a smaller repeat:

couched lines and hand stitch, 7" square

Interesting how the smallest version of the footprint motif turns out looking like a little sun – hence today’s title: walking on sunshine.  Hope you’re having a happy day too!

This entry was posted in samples and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Walking on sunshine

  1. Jan Marriott says:

    you did all this in one day? unbelievable.

    • Karen Turner says:

      No, I didn’t, Jan! The top one (the reverse applique) took a long evening, and the other one took a morning. About 4-5 hours each, at a guess.

  2. Deborah says:

    Wonderful stitching. Lovely blues in the first one.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Deborah. All the fabrics are hand-dyed (procion). The floral blue in the central cut-out is an over-dyed commercial print.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    great samples!!!!

  4. serenapotter says:

    i love those little suns.
    your work is so thoughtful.
    i feel like a chicken with my head cut off compared to you.

  5. Storycloth says:

    So cheery – seeing these is a lovely way to begin my day. Thankyou for this cheer. Gilly

  6. Bea says:

    I don’t comment every time, but I am so enjoying seeing your work – it is just beautiful. Thank you for sharing it.

  7. sandra says:

    I learn from you process. Thanks Karen.
    This cloth made me think of the Maya people.

  8. Debi Minter says:

    I love those little suns also! So bright and cheery. They remind me of bitty little daisies.

    😉 Debi

  9. tina slipper says:

    YOU ARE FIRING ON ALL CYLINDERS,fantastic work, love it, love it, love it…..

  10. Pingback: Stitching snow tracks « Postcards from Wildwood

Comments are closed.