Surprise

Sometimes I surprise even myself.  You might recall how I was saying the other day that there was no way I could finish the Tracks Samples cloth book by the end of January. I almost feel I should apologise for this, but it appears to be done.  Let me explain, before my mother phones to tell me I’m doing too much.

The cover was already pieced some time ago so just needed lining and finishing. My blog happens a little behind ‘real time’ so I had almost finished all the pages by the time last Friday came around. My husband has been laid low with a cold all weekend and, well, there wasn’t much else to do – so I stitched.  And lo! There was much less remaining work than I had previously thought.  I stitched at a comfortable pace, to the soundtrack of coughing and sneezing in the background, and I don’t feel that there was any rushing involved.

The paper sketchbook will remain ongoing for the time being; there is still a little more I want to do with it, and still a few small samples I want to add to it. But that can be done ‘as and when’ and leaves me free to start something new for Spring. I have an idea about what I want to do next and will share that soon.

back cover

I’ve decided to resurrect my flickr account (link in the sidebar), because I think that might be a good place to gather this year’s work together. I’ll post pictures of each page there.

This entry was posted in Cloth books, samples and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Surprise

  1. Elizabeth says:

    And that feels so good!!!!

    You created a little miracle by yourself.

    Enjoy your day.

  2. karen says:

    good to see you back on flickr!

  3. Amanda says:

    I’m glad you managed to finish it and within your own pace too. It does look lovely.

    I’ve been thinking about linking my Flickr too but it needs thought and I don’t have much at the moment to spare. One day maybe.

  4. Penny says:

    Sometimes, if we just work slowly but steadily something comes to life without even thinking about time or deadlines or pressure. That’s the best part of creativity. Wonderful book!

  5. as i’m not a seasoned embroider-er . . . shucks, i’m not
    good at it at all but i am trying.
    yet am i need of inspiration, searching for a “sun track” decoration!
    i bet i’ll find it here! hope you don’t mind . . .
    i just love your stitching!

  6. arlee says:

    ah, patience, it is a wonderful thing

  7. Deborah says:

    It has all come together so nicely!

  8. Storycloth says:

    I think the cover and enticing opener button is beautiful. Gilly

Comments are closed.