Inside

Of course, this jacket will need lining. And as I thought about that, I thought about how nice it might be if this was reversible. So that means making two jackets, in effect: one inside the other. If I bind the cuffs and hem, and place the collar between the two layers, I think that might be quite effective. And then I thought about all the pieces of silk I collected from Upcycled Art on Etsy: over-dyed bits of silk clothing, mostly in shades of blue and green, and thought about making the lining in patched silk.

I’m piecing this over a foundation of muslin (cheesecloth) so that it’s finer and lighter than the outer layer.

This (above) is a sleeve, pinned and ready to turn the edges and stitch the pieces down. The border along the lower edge was cut from a square silk scarf, and it turned out that there was just enough border to edge each sleeve, plus the jacket front and back.Β  It will take a while to secure each patch and then quilt each piece before stitching the component parts together. Silk can be surprisingly tough to stitch through sometimes.

This entry was posted in wearable art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Inside

  1. Amanda says:

    Beautiful colours Karen. Are you staying with Spring for the lining too or moving to Summer?

  2. Jan Marriott says:

    Lovely….I am quite jealous and want to get my sewing machine out

  3. Maggi says:

    Great idea to use silk for the lining to keep everything light, and how lovely to have it reversible.

  4. Jude Whaites says:

    I’m envious, always wanted to make a jacket like this. Maybe you will be my inspiration. I’ll be following your progress and look forward to the finished garment. Love the colours by the way, very fresh.

  5. Rachel says:

    It can be a bit tricky to pull off the reversible trick, but it’s so satisfying to do!

  6. Storycloth says:

    Your colours make me feel so fresh and alive – the jacket will be as if you are wearing Spring. Gilly

Comments are closed.