Separation – and reuniting

As Tina correctly observed, this is definitely two separate jackets. As she says, they have developed two very different personalities, which I find very interesting. Two things that started out from the same point have become so far removed from each other that they no longer sit comfortably together. Is it the materials: one silk and the other cotton? Is it the design: one abstract and the other more illustrative? I’m not sure I can explain it or account for the difference, and actually I know I don’t need to. They have become what they are.

Before I unveil the silk jacket so far, I need to introduce this lady, with whom I was recently reunited:

She is slightly older than me, by about a year or two. My mother bought her in the early 1960s, and typed envelopes every evening – in addition to working full time – in order to pay for her. She was a constant presence through my childhood, modelling many dresses, blouses and skirts, and for some years has been wrapped up in various cupboards and lofts. Recently out of retirement, and adjusted to reflect my own dimensions, she now stands quietly and reassuringly in the corner of my workroom. Here she is modelling her first garment for many years, and looking as if she’s never been away:

She turns very smoothly and easily:

The light is still not great here, but at least this gives an idea of the overall look.

Silk hanten jacket front (in progress)

So now I have a couple of issues to resolve. The first is that this silk jacket now needs its own lining. I need to decide whether I should piece the lining, or whether the lining should be one plain fabric. The latter would mean having to buy new fabric, which I don’t really want to do. I have the equivalent of yards and yards of fabric already, but everything I have is all in tiny pieces. The other issue is that I don’t need two jackets. Do I carry on with the cotton one anyway, or do I cut it up and turn it into something else?

Cotton hanten jacket, front

Cotton hanten jacket back

This entry was posted in Reflections, textile art, wearable art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Separation – and reuniting

  1. karen says:

    so many questions…lining??? plain would be best I think so as not to take away from the gorgeous outer jacket. Don’t worry about the little scraps going unused, they will find a purpose eventually. As for the other jacket, well you may need it one day. What if your neighbour somehow ends up with the same jacket as you?? could be a nightmare take my word for it and then you have two to swap with for those embarassing moments on the path!!

  2. Penny says:

    I vote for plain — I think the magic of the patched jacket will display much better. Keep both jackets, one can be worn more or less permanently by your alter ego (the dress form).

  3. Ger says:

    Ohh, ahh – they´re great… no cutting, please, whatever…

  4. arlee says:

    Why not make it a reversible jacket? One side cotton, one side silk? A luscious concoction and each will give weight to the other. Spring spring spring i love this piece!

    • Karen Turner says:

      That was the original plan, Arlee. They turned out so differently that they no longer want to be together. So now it’s two separate garments – which means making two more linings… feeling a bit like Sisyphus now…

  5. Rachel says:

    I’m sure your friend is glad to be back at work!

    I still think that a reversible jacket is still the best idea.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I might still make one of them reversible, Rachel – but it’s true that this lining no longer goes with the original outer. Maybe I’ll have one reversible jacket and one non-reversible one.

  6. Sweetpea says:

    Perhaps you might consider finishing them both, then sell one of them…
    Either one would probably be gone in an instant.
    And my vote is for a pieced lining in that silk jewel…but I am boro-ing over at Jude’s place so you can blame my vote on that. ooooh, but it would be luscious & wonderfully layered!
    just sayin’ ;>}

    • Karen Turner says:

      Well, I made a decision on the lining… more on that later. I will finish both after all, I think. Thanks for the encouragement!
      🙂 x

  7. karen says:

    two jackets! heavenly! Silk is so wonderful to wear and cotton so sturdy…ah the dilemma!!

  8. Amanda says:

    I wish my taylor’s dummy looked as slim as yours. Wait it reflects me so… no we won’t go there. Invaluable piece of kit though.

    Of course you need two! One to wear out and one to create in.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Aha… one to wear and one to work in… I hadn’t thought about it like that! Thank you for the idea 🙂
      I do try periodically to put some weight ON.

  9. Janice says:

    Oh, this is beautiful! Lucky you having your old friend to help you out! And I would definitely go with two jackets. Of course you need two.

Comments are closed.