Shibori…

…or, as I prefer to call it, plain and simple tie-dye. I broke my own rule and bought new silk – habotai 10 – which I dyed and made into a lining for the silk jacket.

It probably doesn’t help that you’re seeing it on a green carpet, and the colours aren’t that accurate due to poor light here today.

The larger motif (if I’ve measured everything accurately) should sit somewhere around the inside centre back:

The rest of this jacket will involve finishing off the outer stitching, making (piecing) a collar and binding, and then stitching it together. Still quite a long way to go, and many more hours. Thank you for all the encouragement during this process, and for the helpful ideas and suggestions.

I’m now taking a blog break for a couple of weeks, to do some home decorating. I have paint and I have rollers, and am looking forward to getting started. I quite enjoy painting walls, and our sitting/dining room is quite large – it’s actually two rooms with the dividing wall missing – so it will take some time.

During the break I’m going to be thinking about a few other things too. More on that later.

This entry was posted in textile art, wearable art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Shibori…

  1. Rachel says:

    Good luck with the house painting!

    One of the things I never realised until I started blogging was the huge variety in the quality of the light in our house, even on days that seemed superficially the same. You’ll find yourself “saving up” photography for good days, and muttering complaints if you have to be elsewhere when the light is “just right” at home…!

  2. Jill says:

    beautiful dying – enjoy your painting 🙂

  3. Penny says:

    The lining will be a beautiful as the outer side of the jacket! Have fun with roller and paint — there’s nothing quite like freshly painted walls!

  4. Deborah says:

    Beautiful dyeing results!

  5. karen says:

    enjoy your decorating!! miss you already!!

  6. Maggi says:

    The lining looks beautiful. I am glad that you decided to go with two jackets.

  7. Janice says:

    Great work with the dyeing. Enjoy your decorating.

  8. Gilli says:

    Beautiful lining, shame it’s going to be hidden on the inside. Don’t forget to take before and after pictures of your redecorating. Love those!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Oh, I’m hopeless at remembering to do before and after pictures…
      The lining won’t be entirely hidden as this jacket has no fastenings, so will flap open quite a bit. And I’ll know it’s there. 🙂

  9. tina slipper says:

    well I will miss you dreadfully, what shall I do?hmmm maybe finish painting my childrens furniture- your making me feel guilty now,, have a nice break…

  10. Victoria says:

    Cool dyeing! Enjoy your blog break and house painting!

Comments are closed.