Just once

The only time I’ve ever tried devore (where you use a special paste to remove fibres from mixed fibre fabrics, creating a kind of etched effect):

devore sample on silk and velvet

I found these samples in the ‘Freedom’ sketch book that I uncovered yesterday. I think we should try most things at least once.

devore sample

Not really my thing. But glad I tried it.

This entry was posted in textile art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just once

  1. Jan Marriott says:

    I find it very interesting….you never know when you might use that technique again.

  2. @home says:

    I’m surprised you didn’t get on with it, you have reminded me I would love to try it! is it difficult/expensive?
    Sue 🙂

    • Karen Turner says:

      To be honest, I can’t remember much about it, Sue! It was a few years ago, and part of a college course so already paid for in the course fees. As far as I recall, it was simple enough – just paint on the paste and let it dry – but you have to use devore-suitable fabric, ie part natural (cotton/silk) and part synthetic, as it’s the synthetic part that dissolves. Would love to know how you get on if you try it.

  3. Maggi says:

    It is a lovely effect but with the price of devore velvet these days, not one I think I will be doing much of again. I do agree about trying things out, sometimes even the most unlikely technique turns out to be something you love.

  4. Amanda says:

    Yes, must try everything, just to see. A bit like my recent goldwork.

  5. Janice says:

    Isn’t this the method used for making those scarves with naked patches on the velvet? I agree – no experience is ever wasted. Maybe you’ll find a reason to do it again, but at least you gave it a go. Looking forward to seeing what your new sketchbooks will bring.

  6. Rachel says:

    Devore is something I do intend to have a go at one day, but I’ve not got around to it yet. It does look like fun!

Comments are closed.