Pieces of Spring

During the marathon decorating, I pieced together some silk patchwork in the few spare moments I could gather together.

The larger squares are 2″, the smallest just half an inch square; just some over-dyed silk scraps, hand pieced over paper. The whole piece is basically nine nine-patches with the centre of each block missing. I’m laying the patchwork over some black and white floral embroidered cotton and backing it with hand-dyed silk. It will be about 22″ square altogether and will be a small table cloth. It has quite a long way to go, I think, since the three layers now need to be quilted together.

I like the way the black and white floral is appearing in the nine ‘windows’ in such a random and unpredictable way. The same kind of thing is happening in my garden at present. I have a little rowan tree growing, and I know I never planted it. A gift from a passing bird, perhaps.

This entry was posted in textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Pieces of Spring

  1. Amanda says:

    That looks lovely.

    Rowans keep the bad witches away. We have several mainly because of an ex wife. Seems to be working so far.

  2. Penny says:

    Love the colors and can’t wait to see it stitched together. Just think, you did all this while working fulltime painting – you’re a wonder!!

  3. serenapotter says:

    oh this is beautiful!
    i thought you were still on hiatus or i’d have been by sooner!

  4. judy martin says:

    I love the idea of leaving the central square of the nine patch as a void and letting what is underneath be revealed at random. It’s kind of like life, in a way.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Judy, this is one of my favourite things with patchwork – just to leave a blank space here and there, or sometimes to use the odd sheer patch in between. Patchwork, to me, is about piecing memories, and there are always a few gaps. And as you say, like life.

  5. karen says:

    oh I just love patches…even the word ”patches”…sigh

  6. tina slipper says:

    sorry I havnt been around for a bit– also painting and gardening . your work as usual is lovely I thought the patchwork had a lovely wistfull quality to it, I think its the gentle colours you are using its lovely..

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Tina. The colours are very muted and have a kind of layered quality – I assume because of the over-dyeing. I think also though that silk reflects light (and therefore colour) in a unique way.

  7. Jacky says:

    Beautiful soft palette of greens and naturals… lovely spring piece. You must be enjoying working on it.

    Jacky xox

  8. karen says:

    I love your comments, sensible or otherwise!! and I don’t expect much sense from you whilst you are being called a tart all over facebook!!! Lol 🙂

  9. Rachel says:

    Lovely, yes, with the light background and the variety of shades of green around it!

  10. naperie says:

    I love the soft greens and the random black and white.. inspired as always ~Fiona

  11. I really like the idea of working patchwork this small and your ninepatch pattern with tiny squares within squares os lovely. All very springlike x

  12. SandraG. says:

    Love your piece, feeels like spring, makes me take a deep breath and smile : ) You’ve inspired me, like your little baggies dyeing did, ha, to do some nine-patch work again. Have soooo many ideas/I wants in my head and sooooo little time to do alll that I love doing !!!! My heart smiles and sings when I read others saying the exact same thing, sooo many ideas and not enough time to do them all, I love it !!! Your work always, always, inspires me Karen – thank you : ) I just linked over and left a message at the wonderful ToDreamToStitch blog, love it !!!!!!!
    Blessings, Sandra in AZ

  13. Janice says:

    It is lovely. I am impressed by the precision of your machining. (Me and my machine are not firm enough friends for that sort of geometric exactness!)

    • Karen Turner says:

      Well, these are hand pieced, over paper. There’s no way I could – or would want to, actually – piece these so accurately by machine. Hand piecing doesn’t take that much longer, I find, and is so much more peaceful 🙂

Comments are closed.