Curves

More sunshine today, so more gardening – but I also managed to find time for a little stitching. I’m making a new lining for this little vintage sewing basket, a gift from a good friend:

The basket was made in China, and the lining was communist red. Not really my colour, so I’m replacing the red with vintage turquoise silk. The turquoise fabric was a very kind gift from an old friend, with whom I recently caught up on facebook, and dates from around the 1960s. It was originally a cheongsam, which was made for her while she was living in Singapore.

So I’m thinking about circles, and spheres, and curves: the circles that bring us together via the spiral pattern of time; how people from the past can become a part of the present, and how something can travel halfway around the world to begin a new life. About how this little round basket will become a safe place for a collection of treasured sewing tools, and about how it will always remind me of two friends in different times.

I’m even using a curved needle:

This entry was posted in Reflections, Sewing tools and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Curves

  1. karen says:

    it’s a lovely idea to use your friends cloth and I love that colour!

  2. Fiona says:

    love the curves, and the synergy of using a curved needle… the fabric is gorgeous

  3. Rachel says:

    I have to say, every time I’ve tried to use a curved needle I’ve swapped to a straight one after a few stitches. Well done for persevering!

  4. what? a curved needle?
    just when i think i have, somewhat, caught
    up with new sewing “toys” another one
    pops up!
    when does one use a curved needle?
    that blue is royal. beautiful. lush.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Curved needles have been around for many years and are mainly used by upholsterers, I believe – good for securing a flat edge to a curved one. Of course, they have many other uses too and quite a few stitchers use them. Some people tie quilts with them, though I’ve never tried that. I understand you can get quite fine curved embroidery needles too.

  5. Maggi says:

    I just love the jewel-like colour of the new lining. A special way of remembering friends.

  6. Janice says:

    Yes – lovely thoughts. And beautiful work. BTW I love your new gravatar. Did it arrive with the Supermoon?

Comments are closed.