A circle

I added a circle to the square patchwork cloth, just for a little balance against the squareness. Since we’re just past the Spring Equinox, where night and day are equal, this seemed like a good thing to do.

I can’t help being reminded of Jude when I see black and white thread like this, but this is done slightly differently. Firstly, it had to be black and white because this picks up the monochrome floral fabric that shows through the windows and at the edges. Secondly, this is whipped running stitch, not plied thread. This, along with couching, is my favourite way of creating a stitched line on fabric. The running stitch was done in black coton de broder, and the whipping in white. I see from the photograph that it’s not a particularly great circle, although it looks OK when you see it for real.

This entry was posted in textile art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A circle

  1. Fiona says:

    I love the connection with the equinox, the circle is inspired.

  2. Jan Marriott says:

    I always like that juxtaposition between patches and quilting….I see it in some antique quilts that I deal with. A tight quilted grid on a rose applique perhaps or baptiat fans over a log cabin.

  3. Jan Marriott says:

    can’t spell…make that baptist fans.

  4. claire says:

    It sharpens the focus. Those greens are beautiful.

  5. Deborah says:

    The circle adds just the right touch!

  6. karen says:

    There is something about circles that just calls to me. The symbolisms abound with spirals and circles. This adds just that right touch to your work! Lovely!

  7. simply gorgeousx lynda

  8. SandraG. says:

    This is just gorgeous Karen : ) love the greens and the symbolism of the circle is wonderful. I never caught how Jude makes her “magic” thread – must be in her very early whispering classes, but thanks for explaining your version, it sounds easy but looooks sooooo appealing. As always, you’ve inspired me yet again !!!!! : )
    Blessings and happiness in the new week – Sandra in AZ : )

  9. tina slipper says:

    rather gorgeous and thought provoking ,I think…….tina

  10. karen says:

    looks like a pretty good circle to me…and it definitely adds something to the piece as a whole.

  11. Rachel says:

    Remarkable how that simple stitched line changes the appearance of each block it runs through…

Comments are closed.