Whites

Quite perverse, really, that I have a cupboard full of luscious hand-dyed fabrics in every colour imaginable, and what I really want to work with at the moment is white. It always amazes me that there are so many shades of white, and that those shades are always changing depending on the colour of the light.

This will be a square quilt, made from nine 12″ blocks of layered patchwork:

I’m experimenting with a quilt-as-you-go technique, in that I’m stitching the blocks wrong sides together so that the seams are on the top, the right side:

And the back just shows the ‘right’ side of the seams:

I plan to cover the seam fronts with strips of pieced 1″ squares, in not-quite-whites – very pale pastels and neutrals – and perhaps a pieced border. I’m thinking today about a good friend whose mother died recently, and about how white always manages to bring a quiet peace.

 

This entry was posted in quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Whites

  1. Deborah says:

    Lovely project and interesting technique. Sometimes I like to work with shades of white, too. I’m looking forward to continuing to see this.

  2. Amanda says:

    Yes, I have a collection building on my work desk of off whites and neutrals and I’m itching to start something that’s building. So what is spurring the pale phase, one wonders??

    • Karen Turner says:

      Interesting, isn’t it?
      I wonder sometimes if it’s to do with ‘starting again’. I find that I turn to white when I feel as if I’ve lost my way a little.

  3. claire says:

    I really enjoyed working with white recently. It made me think about the stitches holding it together, and the construction generally. I found it quite calming. Yours looks lovely.

  4. Jan Marriott says:

    love white on white, always have done.

  5. looks like a very promising start and love your construction idea. can’t wait to see more of it.

  6. karen says:

    white, white, white, sigh…..

  7. Rachel says:

    Maybe white “cleanses the palette” in some way..

  8. Pingback: Back to some real work | Stitching Life

Comments are closed.