Ground

Firstly, thank you for the responses to the last post. There were some real words of wisdom and encouragement there, and I appreciate that.

I’m still looking at paper and colour, feeling a few different ways through. I noticed how different this same composition looks and feels depending on the ground it sits on. Here it is on a white ground:

composition on white

… and on black:

composition on black

I like what the darkness does to the colours in this second version. Sometimes I think we just need to sing in the dark, knowing that eventually the dawn will break.

This entry was posted in work on paper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ground

  1. Maggi says:

    The choice of background colour really does make a difference. I like your analogy of singing in the dark.

  2. Jill says:

    oh absolutely – I agree, what a beautiful way of expressing it – winter always seems to be that time for me – a hibernation of sorts – imbolc bringing the light and fresh ideas to the surface

  3. Penny says:

    Sometimes changes in value are more important to the design than the colours chosen.

  4. Rachel says:

    Absolutely. Several times I’ve had an idea and later wished I’d picked a better background colour for it. Of course, by playing around with paper first, you can work these things out earlier on!

  5. Deborah says:

    Interesting difference between the two backgrounds. I’m a bit behind in blog reading and really can relate to your last post and the comments that transpired. I found them helpful.

Comments are closed.