Around the nine patch (part 2)

Bear with me on this path of digression, one thing kind of leads to another here. I wondered how it might look if I left out the middle square.

A square hole in a round peg…?

The black and white floral fabric is from a charity shop blouse; synthetic chiffon and semi-sheer. The nine patch fabric is undyed linen, pieced with black cotton thread.

One more little sampler still in progress; maybe tomorrow.

This entry was posted in samples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Around the nine patch (part 2)

  1. Rachel says:

    Digressions are always interesting, aren’t they… Where will they lead you now?

    • Karen Turner says:

      These are intentional trials, if you know what I mean. I already know where they’re going… or, rather, I think I do… but you never know…

  2. Jan Marriott says:

    you know that I always like juxtapositions (not sure if this is the right word) ie soft with hard, satin with tweed, cheap with classy.
    With the quilts I deal with I almost always favor straight quilting with floral applique, or ornate quilting with a nine patch.

  3. Penny says:

    And one thing leads to another….
    You call these experiments samples, but they are way more than that.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thank you, Penny. It’s so difficult, when you work in isolation, to know what’s good and what isn’t, and what’s ‘just’ a sample and what might be more substantial than that. I don’t yet always know the difference.

  4. karen says:

    playing is the best part and you seem to be having so much fun!! take your time and enjoy!

Comments are closed.