Around the nine-patch (part 3)

And the final part – for now. I wondered whether, if the nine-patch can be a circle, it could also be a ring:

Not my usual colour scheme, and I’m afraid I can’t account for it. The silk in question just kind of jumped into my hand.

I think it is at this point that it becomes unrecognisable as a nine-patch – although technically it is still a shape made from nine patches. If anyone’s interested, you can make the template quite easily by drawing two circles, one inside the other, and dividing the space into forty-degree segments.

There is a hand-dyed cotton yarn couched around the outer edge, and space-dyed perle cotton split-stitched around the inner edge. The ring itself was hand pieced over paper – the only way I can get anything near accurate piecing.

I may use some of these nine-patch ideas on the white series – more on that later.

This entry was posted in samples and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Around the nine-patch (part 3)

  1. Carolyn says:

    I of course love those warm rosy pinks. Thanks for explaining how to divide the circle. I love the last series of work you have posted too. Best wishes, Carolyn x

  2. Els says:

    O this is great Karen! I can see that you jump from one idea to another!
    Great to be a part of all this (That’s what I love the most about blogging 🙂 )

  3. :* ) Keeping an eye on the basket of squares…
    and I let me say, with each new “part”
    you’ve created eye dazzling 9 patch cloth wonders!
    Forgive me but are you working with a mixture
    of cloths?
    awe inspiring…….. really!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Yes, Cristina, the backgrounds are all layered mixed fabrics. The silk I used for this ring was originally one piece of hand-dyed dupion.

  4. tina slipper says:

    Ithink its lovely, and I DO DO DO like that PINK!!!!!!!!

  5. love all your 9 patch experiments and the finishing on the edges of the circle finishes it beautifully.

  6. Amo says:

    Just catching up with you 9 patches, I think they’re all wonderful. I like how you worked through the ideas and varied the stitches too. Where to next one wonders.

  7. jude says:

    a little what iffing?

  8. Rachel says:

    It’s a lovely colour – maybe a herald of a new direction?

  9. arlee says:

    i am LOVING these art smart explorations

  10. This is lovely, it reminds me of a sugar ring donut with sprinkles, or at least wee yellow sprinkles dusted around the edges, yum, great colours!

Comments are closed.