Seeing red

Continuing with the ‘In Search of Peace’ series, I found myself wondering why so much of this work is white, grey and yellow. I wondered if there were any circumstances under which something like red might suggest peace. Ordinarily, red is such a fiery colour and can have associations with anger, power, bloodshed, danger, etc – although I admit that it never means any of those things to me. I generally see red as suggestive of energy, vitality and life force, and although it’s not one of my favourite colours, I wanted to see how I felt about working with it.

This is a 15″ diameter circle; hand pieced patchwork using scraps of red silk, applied to a pieced and patched white square background. Although it is quite vibrant, I think perhaps it might take its place in the Peace series. I’m currently making it a border of pieced aqua silks. I’m thinking sunset – maybe over winter fields.

This entry was posted in quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Seeing red

  1. Jan Marriott says:

    Karen, you seem at peace working with those colors, even if they are not your favorites…..perhaps you have ‘made peace’ with them

  2. maggi21 says:

    Even if not your favourite colours, you have done a great job. Gives me a feeling of warmth.

  3. arlee says:

    DELISHUS YUMSHUSNESS 🙂

  4. Erica says:

    Red is the colour of love too, so apt for a peace quilt. I enjoy the way the different reds work in this block very much.

  5. Penny says:

    Redliscious! And such a perfect appliquéd circle….that’s not easy!

  6. Beverley says:

    Passion and blood shed are often there just before peace.

  7. Rachel says:

    It does seem to have worked very well – warm and vibrant rather than aggressive – well done!

  8. Sweetpea says:

    …am seeing this red and responding to this red…and then I went right off into the sunset over those winter fields…

  9. karen says:

    I love this, red isn’t my colour either but you have combined those shades so well.

  10. Sunny says:

    Red is the color that corresponds to the root chakra — the one that grounds the spiritual forces in the body, the one that gives us the ability to work lovingly on the physical plane. Seems just about right to me.

Comments are closed.