A little pink

The third small cloth, reworked from here:

I removed the patchwork strip from the left hand side and put the whole thing on a larger background before adding some silk and cotton fabrics and a bit of quilting. I’m calling this one ‘Urban Peace’; something about it makes me think of the sun over a city. It has no borders, as I didn’t want to define the picture plane or contain the composition within it.

Two of these three little cloths (ie these two and/or the one from yesterday) will be given away next month as part of a small celebration. A minor landmark. More on that in June. Stay tuned!

I just added borders to this one, and a little couching around the edges. I’ve been thinking a little today about a large sampler and the shape of peace. I’ll be back on Monday with some more on that. Until then, have a lovely weekend.

This entry was posted in quilts, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A little pink

  1. Jan Marriott says:

    I’m enjoying this series…

  2. Carolyn says:

    I’ve just had a huge whizz down your page and it’s all GORGEOUS. Every piece a work of art. I really enjoyed my visit thank you xx

  3. karen says:

    I love the pink and I especially love the little seeding stitches……

  4. tina slipper says:

    as usual, love it, love it,LOVE IT!!!definately like it with a bigger background, I have so missed reading your blog, am now catching up, reading back…..and I have learned one of your stitchs its great! thanks

    • Karen Turner says:

      Just went off to have a look, Tina. Lovely! I can’t leave a comment because blogger appears to be (still!) down but as soon as I can, I will 🙂

  5. Penny says:

    I love the pink also — and love the title of this piece (peace? *smile*)!

    • Karen Turner says:

      I quite like puns, Penny. Partly the reason there’s so much patchwork in this series is the piece/peace thing. Simple things like that make me smile.

  6. sally jo says:

    love your pink and yellow colors together – real warmth. also am impressed with your series.

  7. Rachel says:

    I like that one – a lovely colour palette..

Comments are closed.