The sun sets

I know, I said I’d be back on Monday. I didn’t say it would necessarily be Monday UK time, and it’s probably already Monday somewhere in the world by now.

I just wanted to post a couple of pictures of ‘Sunset’, which is now finished and hanging in the workroom. I like to live with finished pieces for a while, just to check that they are in fact finished.

Sunset, 36" square

The quilting always takes much longer than I expect, but the extra effort of doing it all by hand is well worth it, I think. I like the fact that you have to get really close to a cloth to see the full effect of hand quilting.

This is one of my favourite fabrics, a sturdy white cotton. You can see that there are little rectangles in the cloth where the weave is different, more open. I have no idea how this is done or what the technique is called, since weaving always strikes me as a black art understood by a very few special individuals. I found it in a charity shop. It used to be a summer dress, and had a very full gathered skirt, yielding quite a lot of fabric when it was cut and ironed. There was no shop label, and no care label, so I think someone must have made it for themselves. Sometimes I wonder if it’s cruel to salvage a handmade garment for fabric, but then if someone else had bought and worn it, they might one day have thrown it away, and that would have been tragic.

quilted with Valdani 35 weight cotton thread

There is lots more quilting to do, on two other large cloths that are in progress. In the meantime, I’ll be starting something new tomorrow.

This entry was posted in quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The sun sets

  1. Karen S says:

    I love this — so simple and so striking! I really like all your stuff with circles.

  2. Radiantly beautiful!
    And I love, oh so much, the sweet
    loop stitch in the last photo.
    What is the name of that stitch?

  3. love how you have framed the weave structure with your stitching. I, too, sometimes struggle with re-purposing beautiful old fabrics but then think that they could end up as cleaning rags and how much better to become treasured pieces of stitching.

  4. Jan Marriott says:

    think of all the thousands of tons of fabrics that are put through a shredder for recyling.

  5. Penny says:

    Lovely fabric – you were lucky to find it (and I’m sure the first owner would love what you’ve done with it). Recyling fabric from no-longer-worn clothes is somewhat historical since that’s how many of the early quilts were made. Having recently come home from the desert – your sunset takes me back to the land of wide open skies and orange/red sunsets.

  6. karen says:

    well you already know how I feel about this piece….

  7. kaite says:

    it’s Monday here and has been for 9.5 hours. a wonderful sunset moon or is it sun? maybe an asteroid, whatever, it’s beautiful, the colours remind me of outback Aus maybe after a bushfire or Autumn burnoff.

  8. Rachel says:

    Lovely. And you are quite right, sometimes it takes a day or two to be absolutely sure that a piece is finished…

    It’s actually not that difficult to create the change in the weave structure, especially given the range of control systems available.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Yes, I keep wondering whether I should couch a yarn around the edge of the red circle. I think not, but I do keep asking the question.
      I’d like to know more about weaving and how textures can be created.

  9. Janice says:

    It’s lovely. And your quilting is delightful – so neat and even! I love the addition of the herringbone stitch too.

Comments are closed.