the shape of peace

As I said before, quilting takes a long time, and it’s not going to be very interesting if I just keep posting pictures of each tiny, laborious bit of hand quilting as it happens. It’s also going to be quite tedious for me if that’s all I’ve got to occupy my time.

Having established (in this series, at least) that peace is grid-shaped and circular, I thought it might be interesting to make a circle sampler quilt. I’ve challenged myself to find as many ways as I can to render circles on square backgrounds, and then I’ll stitch all the squares together into a grid formation. Each circle might become a little moment of peace.

preparation

I’ve cut 36 background squares, each 6.5″, and have come up with a few ideas for starters. 36 squares (each with a different circle) will make a 6 x 6 quilt about 36″ square. I like the neatness of square numbers.

6.5" squares

So, in between bits of quilting and larger cloths, I might share each little circle as it is completed. I have no idea how the finished thing will look, but I think the idea is quite exciting. I wonder if readers will agree, when we get to ‘circle #34’. Maybe it’s just another kind of tedium. You’re welcome to yawn along with me.

This entry was posted in samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to the shape of peace

  1. Bea says:

    Exciting! I love watching your works develop and the contrast between the large and small scale pieces will be very interesting.

  2. Rachel says:

    I doubt we’ll be yawning. I’m certainly intrigued by this project…

  3. kaite says:

    i’m not yawning yet, it sounds interesting.

  4. Penny says:

    How could anyone be bored by looking at stitchery?!! I’ll be waiting for each and every square. Peace be with you!

  5. Helen salo says:

    Exciting! I doubt anyone would yawn at anything you did. I can ahrdly wait to see it progress.

  6. Jude Whaites says:

    Eagerly waiting in anticipation for the first piece. I like your concept and particularly the colour choices.

  7. Janice says:

    That’s a gorgeous selection of colours! I know what you mean. It’s hard when you’re working on a very big project to keep the momentum going for the blog. (Witness my Hungarian embroidery!) But given the time it all takes, waiting for a Grand Reveal at the end is impossible. It will be interesting to see how many different ways you can make a circle in a square!

  8. deb says:

    More than happy to yawn along with you!

  9. Pingback: One of THOSE posts.. | Dreamz Happen Quiltz

Comments are closed.