#1: the eco-dyed circle

This is the one that started it all off. This amazing little piece of eco-dyed cotton fabric came as a gift from Arlee and I used it exactly as it was, without cutting, re-shaping or re-sizing. It also doubles as the ‘turned edge applique’ circle, so we get two for the price of one here. I believe it was dyed with eucalyptus, and its beauty has to be seen for real to be believed.

4" circle, 6" background square

This one also dictated the colour scheme of the sampler quilt: olive greens, pewter greys, tawny browns. Appropriately enough, the background is also eco-dyed and came as a gift from Catherine. It’s a sturdy textured cotton – I believe I recall her saying it came from an old pillowcase – and it suits the circle perfectly.

I stitched some hand-dyed cotton yarn around the edge of the circle, couching it down with silk thread.

I think this is all going to be rather exciting after all.

This entry was posted in quilts, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to #1: the eco-dyed circle

  1. Rachel says:

    It certainly looks as though it will be exciting and interesting!

  2. claire says:

    You are making such lovely links and connections. And beautiful work too.

  3. Janice says:

    Beautifully executed – it’s SO neat!

  4. arlee says:

    Now THAT is making magic 🙂

  5. Ger says:

    That´s what they all say (well, the decent ones at least…;) after having created something beautiful: I just stitched it down… – this looks very promising, indeed

  6. Libby says:

    I’ve been following your blog lately and I LOVE circle. This piece is wonderful. I’m just now reading India Flint’s book and want to do some of the eco-dyeing. thanks, Libby

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thank you, Libby, and welcome. I have a copy of India’s book too but haven’t really explored eco-dyeing yet. Arlee does it brilliantly.

  7. Penny Berens says:

    Karen, That’s a beauty from Arleen and you will enhance it with a beautiful story to surround it.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Penny. I wonder if the whole thing will end up looking anything like the picture I have in my head. I’ll look forward to finding out.

  8. deb says:

    Love it!

Comments are closed.