#3 – the needle-woven circle

I’m making these circles different sizes – ranging between about 1″ and 5″ – so that when the squares are stitched together, there will be some interest in the overall composition.

This is a comparatively small circle, about 1.5″ in diameter, made by needle-weaving with space-dyed cotton threads on 32-count aida.

I used a darker thread for the warp and a lighter one for the weft, and a whipped running stitch around the edge. It probably needs a good iron to get rid of that crease in the aida, but I’ll deal with all that at the end. These are all works in progress, incidentally: I’ll be adding more stitching and quilting once the squares are pieced together. For now I’m just concentrating on getting the circles composed.

This entry was posted in In progress, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #3 – the needle-woven circle

  1. Rachel says:

    If you rummage on Karen Ruane’s Contemporary Embroidery blog you will find instructions for blocking your embroidery, which might help. I’ve found that simply ironing it isn’t an automatic recipe for success…

    I like your needle-woven circle. It looks slightly tweedy, with the colour variations running through it.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Rachel. I knit occasionally, so am familiar with blocking. I agree that Karen did give a very comprehensive and helpful description though.
      I’ll deal with all that right at the end before I piece the squares together.

  2. kaite says:

    maybe if you dampen the cloth with a spray bottle for a few moments before you iron.
    the circle looks very neat.

  3. judy martin says:

    I love the circle in square imagery that you are exploring. This needle woven one is especially nice.

  4. Fiona says:

    the needle-weaving is very effective.. beautifully done, the choice of thread is exquisite. You have such wonderful inventiveness in developing and extending your circle and square theme

Comments are closed.