The edge of peace

Yesterday I worked on adding the binding and a silk yarn edging to ‘Dawn’, the third in the ‘In Search of Peace’ series. The binding is made from hand-pieced strips of silk.

I’ve really enjoyed working with the colours in this one, although I’m not hugely fond of yellow ordinarily. And don’t quilt judges generally say you should never make a yellow quilt? I don’t know why. Here it is, complete:

36" square

Today I’m making a start on the next one, which I’m calling ‘Dusk’. I may look at a sampler circle or two later as well.

This entry was posted in quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The edge of peace

  1. Rachel says:

    I’m not sure why anyone would say not to use yellow, except that if it gets dusty or dirty it does tend to go greenish.

    I love what you done with this one – peaceful and warm.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Perhaps because it can be difficult to photograph too. I wish I could remember where I’ve read this thing about not using yellow. The memory is not what it used to be!

  2. Ger says:

    Peace isn´t the right thing without a pinch of greed or envy or gruffyness or whatever it is yellow stands for, on its negative side, to be conquered… I like it a lot, it illustrates that there always should be a little tumult in the middle of peace to keep it going…

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Ger. I always find it fascinating how different colours mean totally different things to different people. To me, yellow says ‘hope’, ‘optimism’ – ‘faith’, even.

  3. Penny says:

    One thing about being an artist is that we tend to break the rules! Or at least when someone tells me not to do something…I have to try it out and find out why! But you have used yellow to great effect…a lovely misty sunrise.

  4. karen says:

    beautiful Karen, I love it and it is peaceful, truly.

  5. Jan Marriott says:

    I can see that you are enjoying this series….so am I.

  6. love the golden touch on the entire piece . . .
    and especially your silk yarn against the
    edging. what kind of silk did you use on the
    strips?

  7. Jude Whaites says:

    I like the subtle colour combination, looking at the close up of the stitching, I can just feel the softness of this quilt.

  8. Penny says:

    Pooh on the judges! Yellow and mustardy golds are beautiful – warm without being overbearing, reminding us of peaceful, sunny mornings. “Peace” is beautiful.

  9. Erica says:

    What a beautiful, tranquil effect you have achieved. I love yellow. It’s warm and welcoming…wouldn’t wear it, but often use a little in my creations.

    • Karen Turner says:

      I wouldn’t wear it either, Erica – and I think there is nothing remotely yellow in my whole wardrobe. I hadn’t thought about that.

  10. love it. The words peace and beauty come to mindxlynda

Comments are closed.