#4 – the printed circle

This one was a bit too easy, really. However, I keep reminding myself that the whole thing will be quite ‘busy’ when the squares are joined together, so I think it’s probably OK to have a few very simple circles among the more complex ones.

This is a square of heavy cotton furnishing fabric that has yellow flowers printed on it. I deliberately cut the square so that the printed circle was not exactly central, and then centred an outline upon it in whipped running stitch. The circle outline is approximately 2.5″ in diameter.

I could also have called this ‘the empty circle’. Because sometimes peace means  ‘not-having’.

This entry was posted in quilts, samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to #4 – the printed circle

  1. Your work has such a lovely peaceful feel about it Karen
    Carolyn x

  2. Penny says:

    I always think of the word ‘peace’ as representing ‘simple’. It seems such a natural and right word. You are capturing the word’s serenity with every stitch.

  3. Penny says:

    Love that bit of needle weaving! Quiet or peaceful spots are so important to an overall design.

  4. helen salo says:

    Was busy with company for a few days and WOW the circles I have to catch up on (each one is great, of course) I love the simplicity of this one and the colors say something to me. This project of yours is SO inspiring!

  5. Bea says:

    I love the simplicity of this. I like the fact that the circle is centred on the whole square rather than on the printed design – a strong spiritual image if I could just find the words…

    • Karen Turner says:

      I think I know what you mean, Bea. I looked at the printed image and tried it centred in the square, and it just didn’t look right but I can’t explain why.

  6. deb says:

    It has a bit of an ‘egg’ feel to it, but eggs are full of meaning too aren’t they? Love it.

  7. Rachel says:

    Sometimes it’s difficult to explain why something looks right. You’ll be able to put words on it in a few weeks, I expect!

Comments are closed.