#6 – the lace circle

I found an old lace doily while rummaging through my collection of scraps. It’s about 5″ in diameter, and looks as if it’s from the 1960s or so –  nylon, ‘scratchy’ and quite fragile. I’ve cut a 3″ circle from vintage cotton lace and layered them onto a hand-dyed cotton canvas background.

Usually I would avoid a yellow circle on top of a white one – this combination always makes me think of fried eggs. I’ll need to ‘do something’ with this later on, I think. I’ll see how it looks when it’s pieced together between other blocks. I have to admit that I don’t like this one much, but it’s all right for some circles to be less attractive than others, or to be less pleasing. I don’t mind that. Not everything in the world is beautiful, after all; and if art is to reflect life, then it shouldn’t all be complete loveliness.

Let’s hope we all have a beautiful weekend, though. See you on Monday.

This entry was posted in samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #6 – the lace circle

  1. Amanda says:

    Your post made me think of all the times we are confronted with or meet the ‘beautiful people’ and more often than not it’s a very thin, I suppose lacy, layer that covers something we’re not so comfortable with.

  2. Rachel says:

    You’ll probably find that as it lives with the other circles it becomes more appealing to you.

  3. helen salo says:

    I agree with Rachel. And I love your comentary: Yes, if art reflects life, it can’t be all beautiful! I love following your work.

Comments are closed.