#9 – the 9-patch circle

I know, I’ve already covered this one on an earlier sampler, but I think it has a place on the circle sampler cloth too. In fact, it might have pride of place, since this is the one that started it all.

Hand-pieced hand-dyed cotton fabric, with space-dyed viscose yarn couched around the edge; circle size is 4.5″, background medium-weight calico. The central square was a gift from the lovely Arlee, another eco-dyed treasure.

I’m making some more variations on the nine-patch circle, more of which over the next few days. Also coming in the next few days – some small celebrations in which I will be giving away a couple of small cloths. Open to regular readers only, as usual.

And a brief post-script: I hesitate to use the phrase ‘I really like this‘, but it’s true. Judy’s post today really struck a chord.

This entry was posted in samples, textile art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to #9 – the 9-patch circle

  1. Els says:

    Love your “search” for little circles! But your “Midnight”!!!! that is really fabulous, Karen! (have a good weekend)

  2. jane says:

    I’m a latecomer to your website, but i have been a regular reader since I discovered it- I’m wondering where you show your work, since in this age of the internet when friends can be made across thousands of miles, I notice that we are almost neighbours ( I live in near Whitby). I would love a chance to see your work in the flesh. Do you have any exhibitions coming up ?

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Jane – good to see you ๐Ÿ™‚
      I don’t exhibit – yet – but I’m hoping to do something with the ‘in search of peace’ series when it’s complete. Hull is quite a culturally backward corner of the UK, so I may search a little further afield for a suitable venue. Maybe next year… thank you for your encouragement and support. I really appreciate that.

  3. suzy quaife says:

    Looking lovely Karen – love the ecodyed fabric and colours so much even on the
    lace!

    • Karen Turner says:

      It’s funny, the lace centre and the outer pieces were dyed by different people – Arlee and myself – at different times using totally different methods and dye-types – but they go together so well.

  4. Penny says:

    Place of honour should indeed go to this charming leader of the pack!

  5. deb says:

    Beautiful! Love the fabrics. Is there a secret to appliqueing a perfect circle?

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Deb: if there is one, I don’t know about it. Most of these circles are really not perfect when you look closely. Most of them are near enough though.

  6. Rachel says:

    It’s delightful. And remember that the size of the piece affects how perfect a circle must be before it appears perfect!

Comments are closed.