Something to give

Next Saturday, on 11th June, my facebook page will be one year old. I’m having a little celebratory give-away over on the facebook page itself (link in the sidebar, if you’re not familiar with it yet) but I also wanted something special for my blog readers too. I know that not everyone is into facebook, and, indeed, I have mixed feelings about it myself. I tend to stay away from all the applications, games and general rubbish over there and just use it as a way of keeping in touch with friends old and new.

So – here’s the cloth I will be giving to someone here on the blog:

'A Bit of Peace', approx 10" x 14"

You can read more about this cloth and see more pictures of it here.

In order to be in with a chance, just leave a comment on this post before midnight (UK time) on Friday 10th June. I will draw a name at random next Saturday. Usual rules apply: this (the blog giveaway) is for regular readers only, anywhere in the world, and is not one of those come-here-everyone attempts to attract bargain-hunters or new people. It’s a chance for me to say ‘thank you’ – for your continued support, encouragement, and most of all, for your kind words. I read every comment several times, and I gain a huge amount of comfort and reassurance from knowing that someone out there cares. I can only apologise for the fact that I have just one cloth to give to someone here.

The facebook giveaway, on the other hand, is for anyone, regular reader or not – though I do hope any new people will become regular readers. To enter the facebook bonanza, you just have to ‘like’ my page and leave a comment.

Next week, I’ll be back to circles and squares. Hope your weekend is good.

This entry was posted in quilts, samples, textile art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Something to give

  1. Jeannie says:

    Oh Karen, I think we should be sending you something for a thank you for all the inspiring artwork and posts. Have a wonderful weekend and happy blogoversary.

  2. suzy quaife says:

    Karen this is a very sweet little cloth – the colours merge beautifully into each other and I think the background fabrics suit the what you have chosen. I love that it has all been so neatly stitched by hand and I so appreciate that. I tend to agree with Jeannie – you are so generous with your knowledge. Count me in only if you think me worthy! Happy weekend!

  3. Amanda says:

    And I’ve just blogged about a little bit of peace we had last night. All your work is always peaceful! Thank you for being a part of the ether world and I quite agree about FB.

  4. Jennie says:

    What a stunning cloth….i still havnt got round to making one yet!! So wonderful to be part of this giveaway.
    Jennie

  5. Penny says:

    Hey Karen…I have the same feelings about Facebook. I much prefer to spend my computer time reading about and looking at lovely works like you peace series. I understand the concept of spreading a little peace around the world….but how can you part with it!

  6. What a blessing it’s been to visit your site each day and have my soul fed by your work!

  7. Lenka Štrosová says:

    I do love to read your blog and see your slowly sewing. There is nobody like you in our country (Czech republic in Middle Europe ).
    Have a good weekend, Lenka.

  8. Always enjoy seeing what you are working on!

  9. Rachel says:

    Like you I am ambivalent about Facebook, but congratulations on the milestone, anyway!

  10. jane says:

    I love this little piece, but all your work is inspirational x

  11. Gill says:

    I don’t do FB at all!! really not my thing!
    I’ve been watching your work evolve with bated breath

  12. Kristin says:

    Beautiful cloth. I’ve loved watching your latest squares quilts develop. I always look forward to more!

  13. Jude Whaites says:

    Not a Facebook fan but always enjoy your blog. I’m loving your Peace series at the moment and “A Bit of Peace” is gorgeous.

  14. karen says:

    not sure if I qualify as a regular…mostly because I’m not here as regularly as I would like to be and It’s o.k. if my name doesn’t go in the hat because it’s enough for me to be able to come here and share what you do as I think we both do what we do for a shared reason…phew…that’s profound for a saturday night, well it is for me…now I need to go and have a lie down!!

  15. aracne says:

    I love your work, you inspire me with every post that you write.

  16. Bea says:

    What a beautiful piece of work! I don’t often comment, but I do love to follow your creative process.

  17. Beverley says:

    Congratulations on your first year. I know what you mean about facebook though.

  18. congratulations an your anniversary, I know how much time and work goes into the blog, alone. “A Bit of Peace” is beautiful, love how the colours progress – and the title. Something we could use a bit of.

  19. jacky says:

    Beautiful little cloth Karen….always such thoughtful, lovely stitching.

    I havent entered the realm of facebook, I find I have enough trouble finding time to have creative time and visit other blogs. Like everything though, it seems to have its purpose and people love to stay in contact via FB.

    Congratulations on your 1 year of blogging.

    Jacky xox

  20. Mary Anne says:

    I’m commenting, but please don’t put my name in the draw because I’ve only just discovered you and it wouldn’t be fair at this point to put my name in. However, I did want to say that if you ever do another one, I’ll be there with bells on! Good luck to everybody.
    Cheers
    MA

  21. Liz price says:

    hey Karen, I am still contining to be inspired by your work. Not sure if congratulations is the word for making one year on facebok . it does have its uses though such on line scrabble!

  22. Karen,
    not because I to “look up” to the screen of my lap
    when writing you messages
    but “i look up to you”
    because of your find art of stitching. really.
    the detail in your work is inspiring.
    if you hear click. click. click when i am here,
    i am getting as close as possible to your photos………..
    awesome as the are. always!

  23. Gina says:

    I don’t feel I leave comments regularly enough to be included in your giveaway Karen (although I do always read) but I will go and join your facebook page as I have one too for the same reasons of keeping in touch and keeping my work promoted.

  24. elizabeth says:

    Just spent four days on the beach due to the most gorgeous weather and now that I see your beautiful piece again I think, YES.

    Hope you have a lovely sunday Karen and congratulations with one year FB.

  25. Pingback: Never say never | Stitching Life

  26. @home says:

    I would love to own another piece of your work 🙂 so count me in. Happy 1st anniversary as well !
    Sue Xxx

  27. Penny says:

    Loving the way your put stitch to fabric how could I not enter this giveaway? You have a way of giving beauty to simplicity.

  28. Jill says:

    many congrats on your first year – i prefer following your blog rather than fb though it is true – somehow it feels more direct, more connected – just me perhaps …. love all the circley things you are doing – i do have an affinity – circles are an intrinsic part of, well, almost everything I do it seems 🙂

  29. gt says:

    Congrats! Love your inspirational slow cloth.

  30. deb says:

    Thoroughly enjoying the ‘circles’. Have been following your blog for a long time. I think my favourite has been your Friendship quilt, so interesting to see what you did with each block. And this little give away cloth is beautiful!

  31. Lynn says:

    I always enjoy seeing what you are working on. I don’t comment often but I often find your work inspirational, which is why I keep coming back.

  32. sally jo says:

    karen, i have followed you for only a short time, but oh how i love your circles – so beautiful. i must have found you through jude, not sure really, but when i saw ‘a bit of piece’, i left it as one of my 8 links on my phone, along with jude’s study on circles. i even sent an email to my daughter in s.e. asia about you. anyway, congratulation to you and i do love how you work with color – thanks.

  33. Happy Birthday – I have so enjoyed joining your journey recently x

  34. Pingback: #11 – the exploded nine patch circle | Stitching Life

  35. Els says:

    A lovely window circle!
    (NO you won’t find me on facebook, but congrats anyway !)

Comments are closed.