Never say never

Just before we get back to circle samples, I wanted to say a little about fabrics that fail to speak to you immediately. I’m sure you know the kind: those little scraps of glitzy/novelty/cheesy fabrics that come in a mixed bag of recycled scraps from somewhere. You take one look at the synthetic stretchy glittery thing and think to yourself, ‘never, never, in a million years will I ever use that. Ever.’ And it lies in your hand looking back at you rather sorrowfully until you consign it to a box of scraps far away in the back of the cupboard…

I learned many years ago never to discount any cloth. Every fabric has its day, even if it has to wait many years. And here is such a one:

Stretchy, black, glittery nylon with little pearlescent plastic bobbles glued all over it, which I initially greeted with some distaste when first it came to me. I’ve had it years and years, and thought it would never see the light of day. And yet here it is: cut up into squares of about an inch, it’s just right for scattering over this night sky.  Who’d have thought it? I think it’s as surprised as I am.

Just proves the point: never say never – and every fabric has something to give to someone.

Thank you to everyone who has joined in with the fun here and on facebook. I should just clarify that the cloth I’m giving away here is part of the facebook birthday celebration; my blog’s birthday is in January. And further clarification on the ‘regular readers’ issue: you don’t have to comment regularly to be part of this – this is not about driving new traffic here, it’s about saying thank you to the people who have been travelling with me.  I read many blogs myself, but don’t comment that often, mainly because I can’t think of anything sensible to add. You still have the rest of this week to put your name in the hat, if you’d like to. Just leave a comment on the ‘something to give‘ post. Tomorrow, a circle. I promise.

This entry was posted in In progress, quilts, textile art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Never say never

  1. @home says:

    Sometimes, perhaps too often I like cheesy, glitzy fabrics, you of course have used it with your usual impeccable taste 🙂
    Sue Xx

    • suzy quaife says:

      You would be stunned at the array of fabrics I have in my stash, Karen.
      Just about a bit of everything you can think of but, these days, I concentrate only on recycled and natural fibres, like scrim, linen, silks.
      There is a place for everything at some stage!
      Have a happy and positive week!

    • Karen Turner says:

      Thanks, Sue. Actually, I like them too – but sometimes it’s hard to know where they will best fit in.

  2. elizabeth says:

    Does this mean I don’t have to get rid of all the bits and pieces that ended up in my drawer and have no idea what to do with them!

    Thanks for your perfect example why cleaning out isn’t always the option.

    Have a lovely monday.

  3. Penny says:

    Perfect for your night sky! I had a teacher once who made us go out and buy what we called “the ugglies”.

  4. Jan Marriott says:

    On the other hand, what about the fabric we buy because its wonderful, only to loath it when you get it home?
    Anyway, glad it came in handy…

    • Karen Turner says:

      I rarely buy fabric these days, Jan – it’s mostly charity shop clothes which I cut up and over dye. And if I still don’t like it, I dye it again. When I did buy fabric many years ago, I did have a few of these experiences though.

  5. Deb says:

    I love this post – the red-headed step children cloth that someone, somewhere will need or appreciate. Last year I had people send postage for the smallest flat rate priority mail boxes and I stuffed them to bursting with just this kind of cloth. I must have sent out several dozen and still have little scraps of “what the heck??” . You have reminded me of Just WHAT the heck! Each thing in it’s perfect place and time..

    • Karen Turner says:

      Well, as a redhead myself, Deb… no, I know what you mean.
      A time for every purpose under heaven.
      So many happy memories in cloth of all kinds..

  6. jude says:

    like i always say, every fabric is a friend.

  7. Mary Anne says:

    To everything there is a season! Of course, with me being a crazy quilter at heart, these sorts of fabrics are definitely treasures. Only goes to prove that if you keep something long enough, eventually it will find a home.

  8. sally jo says:

    i stopped buying fabric awhile ago, reminds me, today is monday and it’s one half off at the salvation army, but i digress – jude helped me to see the value of recycling and so i am resisting the new fabrics and loving the used and gently aged fibers.

    • Karen Turner says:

      Good for you – used fabrics often have so much more character. I sometimes wonder whether it’s something to do with getting older myself – whether I feel some kind of kinship with fabric that is showing signs of age as well.

  9. Rachel says:

    A great excuse to be a packrat!

  10. karen says:

    can’t think of anything sensible to add?? who says you have to add anything…hello is good…

  11. Angela says:

    loved reading this post. you are so right even those fabrics that just seem wrong always find a way to shine when the time is right 🙂

Comments are closed.